Apricot and Peach Fried Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2001
The high school football team gives these pies a big thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2003
My Grandmother used to make these pies every Thanksgiving and Christmas and they always symbolized the holidays for me. She called them Washington Pies (probably because we are from the Mt. Vernon, VA area). She also had an applesauce filling that noone has been able to duplicate. But, not being one to have a lot of time on my hands, I have made a pretty good "quick" version of this. I use pre-made pie crusts, all natural & thick raspberry or apricot preserves, and crisco is a MUST for the frying. They assemble pretty fast which is important because as soon as you sprinkle them with powdered sugar, they disappear! I enjoyed very much Elaine's recipe and hope she doesn't mind I added mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
The BEST! What a wonderful find. I've looked everywhere for a good fried pie recipe and I found the best. Used apple pie filling that I canned this summer and can't wait to try the apricot and peach. The flakiest crust and not at all greasy. I used butter-flavored Crisco in the crust and fried in Peanut Oil. Thanks for the wonderful recipe Elaine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
Wonderful! I had to cut the dried fruit into pieces...boiling them wasn't enough. They are great with some vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
Excellent crust, fried up great, even good the next day. Wonder if you could use this crust for regular pies that are baked? I had my own filling...I always cut up my apricots into smaller pieces. I spray a pair of sissors with vegetable spray and cut each dried apricot into 4 pieces. Place in water to cover and simmer until falling-apart tender...then I add the sugar and other seasonings. I use minute tapioca as a thickening agent. A tablespoon or two will do great. Allow to stand at room temp until cooled and the filling will thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
I was hesitant about the large amounts of flour and etc. for the pastry but since the filling makes about 17 or eighteen of the pies, it takes that amount of pastry. They were delicious and also kept very well for several days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
My mother-in-law had the biggest apricot tree Ive ever seen in her yard in Las Vegas. It was at least 30 feet high and the trunk was hugh. Probably four feet around...they cut it down years later and put a bank where their house once stood. Vegas will never be the same! She gave me my first taste of fried pies and I was hooked. I never could make them as good as hers. She was a fantastic cook and taught me a lot. That was over 40 yrs. ago. She used a basic pie crust and fried them in an electric skillet. Mine always were pretty good but I was never satisfied with the crust. It was difficult to work with and fry. Yours is awsome. Answer to my prayers. And using the dried fruit is even better than fresh. Milk makes the crust great for frying and holds it all together giving them a great texture and flavor. I use a deep fryer and they come out crisp and not oily. I pack them in a shoe box and paper towels in the frig. Just the way she did. They don't last long. I heard these little pies originated on the covered wagon trail because they could carry dried fruit,flour and of coarse a cow. Thank you so very much for a Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
These were great! Next time I think I will leave out the apricots and double up on the peaches. Also used grand biscuits rolled out for convenience - a real time saver. Can't wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sylvia
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
I've been making fried apricot pies ever since my mother in law showed me how 40 yrs ago. The crust was always a bit tricky but this is the most perfect crust for frying easy to make and handle and best tasting yet. The apricots we used came from the largest tree in Las Vegas..two stories high and at least4 ft around and probably a few decads old. The best apricots I have ever tasted grew on it. We cooked them down with sugar till we had a sweet thick puree for the pies. But I have to say using the dried fruit is supurb. I love this recipe and fry them in a deep fryer..wrap them in paper towels and put them in a shoe box in the frig..just like she showed me. Thank you so much for this great recipe. Its a real keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
I was raised in TX and moved to TN a couple years ago where I was introduced to my first "homemade" fried pie. I thought Mrs. Baird's was the only person who made fried pies. I was looking for a traditional recipe, and found this one to be just that. It was easy, and tasted great. My husband, a TN native thought they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fried Peach and Pancetta Pizza

A savory appetizer pizza with fresh peaches, ricotta, and pancetta.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States