Apricot Almond Rugalach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2000
These are a lot of fun to make, and they taste great! My sister and family has been begging me ever since I made them for Christmas to make them again. I make one batch, and it's always gone in three or four hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2001
Great taste, but VERY time-intensive. I used a food processor to cut the butter and cream cheese into the flour to speed up the preparation time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
dough is the same ratio as the rugalach II, the filling uses almonds and lemon zest instead. the baking temp is better here, it will not burn the jam if overfilled. also i roll this in a rectangle rather than a circle, spread the filling then cut the "triangles" using a pastry cutter in a "zig zag" fashion across the short side of the rectangle. also i fine grind my almonds, toast then measure, then mix using an electric blending wand. it makes for a more homogenous filling. finally, bake on parchment paper, nothing sticks to that, and the product bakes to a more uniform color. signed an alumni from culinary institute of america '89
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
These wonderful cookies are the closest thing to my Austrian grandmother's (Oma) recipe. In addition to the apricot, she would also use a prune and an all nut filling. I hear Christmas bells when I think of little treats! Thanks Bonnie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
This is very good! Definitely will be on my Christmas baking list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
Fabulous cookies, I added chopped dried apricots to the jam and heat it to soften the apricots. Thanks for the recipe - its so easy to make these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veganinvancouver

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
I made 2 batches of these about a week and a half ago and froze them. I baked them today and you were right. They were very good. Plan to do again. Thanks! :-)))))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
Fantastic! I made this a no sugar added recipe for my husband by substituting Splenda for the sugar. No one could tell it was no sugar added!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieGirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
A lot of the filling ran out of the cookie when baked. I sprinkled with confectioners sugar to try to make them look a little better. They did taste wonderful though. I found them to be very delicate and had to leave them on the parchment paper for a while as not to break from moving. I baked for about 13 min. They tasted better several hours later than right out of the oven. Thanks Bonnie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2003
My daughter recommended this recipe highly. I too, give it a 5* rating. Many other traditional Rugalach fillings can be used as well. What a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Sophisticated Almond Appetizers

Easy and elegant, these almond appetizers are anything but complicated.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States