Apricot Almond Rugalach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
These are really tasty, although they're a bit of work. I don't think as much filling is needed, since a lot of it squeezed out when I was rolling the cookies, and more of it oozed out and burned on the parchment while baking. The almonds should be very finely chopped, as these are little cookies! I also cut the rounds with a pizza cutters as suggested in another review, and it worked very well. I'll try this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I love this recipe but do not like Apricot or the lemon in them, SO I use the basic pastry recipe, substituted Rasberry Jam- you can use seedless or seeded. I find the seeded Jams Ooze less our of the cookie. I omit the almonds in one of my batches since my kids don't like the nuts. (it makes them easier to roll) After I roll the cookie I roll the it prior to baking in Demerara Washed Raw Cane Sugar which gives the cookie that sweetness with a little crunch. Everyone seems to rave over that little extra step. As with one other reviewer here... I ALWAYS bake on parchment with these cookies or if you can use a silpat mat if you have- the cookies lift right off of the paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Morganville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
This is absolutely delicious. It's best to bake them on a parchment paper-lined baking sheet because the filling does ooze out during baking. This will save you a lot of clean up time. I omit the lemon rind because I find it distracting. If you use a food processor to make the dough it is lightning fast. Make extra and keep it in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCAFELD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Segundo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
This was one of the best I've ever had! Maxine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
Easy to make and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Madison, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
Delicious recipe and not too hard to make even though there are several steps. One thing that the recipe did not make clear is which nuts to use inside and which to use outside. I used the toasted ones inside since the baking would toast the untoasted ones on the outside. Also, 1/2 cup of jam is plenty for the filling. 20 minutes was the perfect baking time in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
I loved this cookie. Doubling the recipe was a must, and next time I would add a little sugar to the pastry to insure a little sweeter flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
These are my secret weapon over the holidays. The dough freezes well, and once you get the hang of rolling out the dough, you can actually make them fairly quickly. Hint: try mini chocolate chips and rasberry preserves. delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
perfect cookie for guests. Followed directions exactly (which is something I mistakenly don't do!!) and was extremely pleased with the result. Makes me want to keep on baking. Success breeds success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: South Amboy, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2004
the dough, which i believe is an integral part of a ruggulach recipem was not very good. because it did not call for any sugar or spices, it was somewhat tart and did not have a very good flavour, nor was it melt-in-your-mouth. i suppose the type of apricot jam you use also plays amajor role in the success of this recipe. i used E.D. Smith and was not impressed. also, the length of time to which the dough needed to be refrigerated was not specified. perhaps that also affects the quality of the pastry, but we'll never know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Almond Bear Claws

These magnificent bakery favorites are easy to make in your own kitchen.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States