Apricot Almond Rugalach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
dough is the same ratio as the rugalach II, the filling uses almonds and lemon zest instead. the baking temp is better here, it will not burn the jam if overfilled. also i roll this in a rectangle rather than a circle, spread the filling then cut the "triangles" using a pastry cutter in a "zig zag" fashion across the short side of the rectangle. also i fine grind my almonds, toast then measure, then mix using an electric blending wand. it makes for a more homogenous filling. finally, bake on parchment paper, nothing sticks to that, and the product bakes to a more uniform color. signed an alumni from culinary institute of america '89
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
Fantastic! I made this a no sugar added recipe for my husband by substituting Splenda for the sugar. No one could tell it was no sugar added!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieGirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2000
These are a lot of fun to make, and they taste great! My sister and family has been begging me ever since I made them for Christmas to make them again. I make one batch, and it's always gone in three or four hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
This is very good! Definitely will be on my Christmas baking list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
I made 2 batches of these about a week and a half ago and froze them. I baked them today and you were right. They were very good. Plan to do again. Thanks! :-)))))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2003
My daughter recommended this recipe highly. I too, give it a 5* rating. Many other traditional Rugalach fillings can be used as well. What a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
Fabulous cookies, I added chopped dried apricots to the jam and heat it to soften the apricots. Thanks for the recipe - its so easy to make these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veganinvancouver

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
Awesome!!! It was a perfect addition to my dessert platter. Thank you for a new dessert that everyone enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
Delicious recipe and not too hard to make even though there are several steps. One thing that the recipe did not make clear is which nuts to use inside and which to use outside. I used the toasted ones inside since the baking would toast the untoasted ones on the outside. Also, 1/2 cup of jam is plenty for the filling. 20 minutes was the perfect baking time in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
These wonderful cookies are the closest thing to my Austrian grandmother's (Oma) recipe. In addition to the apricot, she would also use a prune and an all nut filling. I hear Christmas bells when I think of little treats! Thanks Bonnie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Sophisticated Almond Appetizers

Easy and elegant, these almond appetizers are anything but complicated.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States