Apricot Almond Rugalach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2004
the dough, which i believe is an integral part of a ruggulach recipem was not very good. because it did not call for any sugar or spices, it was somewhat tart and did not have a very good flavour, nor was it melt-in-your-mouth. i suppose the type of apricot jam you use also plays amajor role in the success of this recipe. i used E.D. Smith and was not impressed. also, the length of time to which the dough needed to be refrigerated was not specified. perhaps that also affects the quality of the pastry, but we'll never know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
Awesome!!! It was a perfect addition to my dessert platter. Thank you for a new dessert that everyone enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2003
My daughter recommended this recipe highly. I too, give it a 5* rating. Many other traditional Rugalach fillings can be used as well. What a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
A lot of the filling ran out of the cookie when baked. I sprinkled with confectioners sugar to try to make them look a little better. They did taste wonderful though. I found them to be very delicate and had to leave them on the parchment paper for a while as not to break from moving. I baked for about 13 min. They tasted better several hours later than right out of the oven. Thanks Bonnie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
Fantastic! I made this a no sugar added recipe for my husband by substituting Splenda for the sugar. No one could tell it was no sugar added!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieGirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
I made 2 batches of these about a week and a half ago and froze them. I baked them today and you were right. They were very good. Plan to do again. Thanks! :-)))))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
Fabulous cookies, I added chopped dried apricots to the jam and heat it to soften the apricots. Thanks for the recipe - its so easy to make these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veganinvancouver

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
This is very good! Definitely will be on my Christmas baking list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
These wonderful cookies are the closest thing to my Austrian grandmother's (Oma) recipe. In addition to the apricot, she would also use a prune and an all nut filling. I hear Christmas bells when I think of little treats! Thanks Bonnie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
dough is the same ratio as the rugalach II, the filling uses almonds and lemon zest instead. the baking temp is better here, it will not burn the jam if overfilled. also i roll this in a rectangle rather than a circle, spread the filling then cut the "triangles" using a pastry cutter in a "zig zag" fashion across the short side of the rectangle. also i fine grind my almonds, toast then measure, then mix using an electric blending wand. it makes for a more homogenous filling. finally, bake on parchment paper, nothing sticks to that, and the product bakes to a more uniform color. signed an alumni from culinary institute of america '89
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Almond Bear Claws

These magnificent bakery favorites are easy to make in your own kitchen.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States