Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2001
This recipe was fabulous!!!!! I'll never buy the pre-made applesauce again. Instead of running the cooked apples through a blender, I mashed them in the pot using a potato masher. By doing this, little chunks of apple were left in the sauce. I also added a bit of cinnamon for a twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2001
I used half the amount of recommended sugar, and it was still really sweet. But it was great otherwise. When I make it again, I will use less sugar. And since this was my first applesauce attempt, I appreciated the tip from a previous review to drain the apples before blending!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2001
Perfect applesauce! Worth the effort. Better than any store-bought brand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loris, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Simpsonville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2001
This is a family favorite now. Kids want it everyday in their school lunches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edson, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2001
This was my first time making apple sauce. I will never go back to store bought. WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
Tasty and easy. I halved the sugar and should have eliminated even a little more-very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2001
This recipe was very easy. Although the recipe says run through food mill or blender, I whisked the apples while they were cooking, and the sauce turned out smooth. I found there was no need to drain the apples after cooking, because they thickened naturally. I will use this recipe again. I only added about 4 TBSP. of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
This was the best applesauce I've ever tasted. I would suggest cutting back on the sugar, though. It may have been that I had very sweet apples. SUGGESTION: Save the apple broth after cooking the apples. You can make cidar or something with it. I used it in place of plain water for steamed rice a couple of days later. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
This recipe is wonderful. I read the reviews first & cut back on the sugar. I'm using sweet eating apples so I added maybe 4 tablespoons of sugar & a little cinnamon. I highly recomend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2002
This is very tasty applesauce! I agree with the other posts about cutting back on the sugar. As it does depend on the apples your using. I would suggest that when you add the sugar, start with 1/4 c., add a little bit more sugar as you go along, tasting with each addition of more sugar. You can pretty much judge at that point how sweet you want it. I also added cinnamon. I also strained the apples before processing. There's nothing like fresh applesauce, thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jandtsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

How to Make Grilled Fruit Skewers

Skewered strawberries, mangoes, papayas, and pineapples all excel on the grill.

How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

See the three simple steps to roasting pumpkin seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States