Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2000
I only put in 3/4 of a cup of sugar and it was still too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2001
This recipe was fabulous!!!!! I'll never buy the pre-made applesauce again. Instead of running the cooked apples through a blender, I mashed them in the pot using a potato masher. By doing this, little chunks of apple were left in the sauce. I also added a bit of cinnamon for a twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2001
Perfect applesauce! Worth the effort. Better than any store-bought brand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loris, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2001
For those of us who are novice enough to need a recipe for applesauce, this one should mention something about straining the apples (saving cooking juices) before processing, and adding back juice as needed for consistency. Otherwise you'll wind up, as I did, with apple soup. I would also reduce amount of sugar by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2001
This was my first time making apple sauce. I will never go back to store bought. WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2001
I used half the amount of recommended sugar, and it was still really sweet. But it was great otherwise. When I make it again, I will use less sugar. And since this was my first applesauce attempt, I appreciated the tip from a previous review to drain the apples before blending!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2001
This is a family favorite now. Kids want it everyday in their school lunches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edson, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
Tasty and easy. I halved the sugar and should have eliminated even a little more-very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2001
This recipe was very easy. Although the recipe says run through food mill or blender, I whisked the apples while they were cooking, and the sauce turned out smooth. I found there was no need to drain the apples after cooking, because they thickened naturally. I will use this recipe again. I only added about 4 TBSP. of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2001
This recipe is quick & easy, but too sweet. I halved the amount of sugar. I would also suggest using apple juice or cider as the liquid instead of water and adding cinnamon and a bit of ground cloves or nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States