Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
When making this be sure to follow the other reviewers addvice and watch the amount of water that you choose to add. I didn't add any sugar despite the fact that I used Granny Smith apples as I like my applesauce very tart. A great recipe - I won't go back to store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
Turned out great! As other viewers said though - cut down the amount of water! I added less water but still had too much. I also added cinnamon and nutmeg and used honey instead of sugar. Great and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycows

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
Basic recipe is good, however, this called for way too much water. I had juicey Melrose apples and only need a quarter of a cup of water. I also cut back on the sugar and added a goodly amount of cinnamon. Because my apples were so tender, I didn't need to run them thru the food processor. A simple mashing with a potato masher did the trick just fine. Great thing to do with all of those apples after a day of apple and pumpkin picking! Thanks Rachel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
This sauce came out Excellent!! I took advice from other reviews and used only barely enough water to cover and glad i did. It came out nice and thick, not runny. Also used 1 cup brown sugar in place of 1 cup white and 2 tsp. vanilla and 1/2 tsp apple pie spice. Will make again, can't wait to make this for my Dad next time i go to visit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Davis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
I chopped up a few HUGE Fuji apples, with the skin left on, and threw it into a saucepan. I used less water than the recipe specified, but it still turned out great. I ran the apples through the blender to chop up the peels and it tasted great! I didn't add any sugar as the apples were sweet enough. Yummy and super healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
Homemade applesauce is SO good. It's great for using up apples that are going soft. Sometimes I skip the food mill and leave it chunky. Great warm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
We love it!! I used Granny Smith and used about 1/2 the amount of sugar..added cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
I used half the sugar, but it still came out great! Rivals store bought, but oh, so much better! Everyone loved it and I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
Very simple. I substituted splenda for sugar and used more cinnamon as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
Delicious! My kids could not believe how wonderful this was. I served it with Thanksgiving dinner. It did not take the full three cups of water, just enough to barely cover the apples. I also added cinnamon, which was very tasty. Thank you for sharing this!! It will be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KWEEKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmetto, Florida, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States