Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
I omit the sugar to make unsweetened applesauce- I use it for my baking =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I've made this many time during the fall when I didn't know what to do with all the apples from our apple tree! I add only about 1 cup of water and 1/2 cup of sugar for the best applesauce ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Really good and easy to make! I've made this with and without sugar, using white and brown sugar and a combo of both. Any way I've made it has been good. You can also throw a bit of cinnamon in there for a bit of a change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYDAWNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
I did everything the same except that I didn't peel the apples since I like the pinkish color for homemade applesauce. :) It was pretty good, but it wasn't gobbled up right away. Easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea LaVere

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Delicious! I did forget to cook it after running it through the processor. Also, I added sugar to taste and added some cinnamon. It was so good! We ate it plain and with latkes and pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
I loved this recipe, It was so easy, the only thing I did differently was put the apples in a bowl of water with the lemon juice so they didn't brown as I was peeling and coring the rest. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
My modifications: used Granny Smith's, no sugar, no water, no lemon juice. Just popped the cooked apples into the blender and pureed. This "naked" applesauce came out just fine - the lemon juice can be added at serving time if desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
After reading all the comments about the water, when I made this, last night, I drained the apples and put the cooked chunks in the food processor. I suspect the draining part was left out of the recipe's instructions. I added the juice of half a lemon to the cooking water, and the juice of the other half to the pulp in the processor. I used no sugar and old Granny Smiths. It was wonderful, just like that. Then I tried adding a 1/2 tsp of cinnamon to a 1 cup serving, which was also wonderful. So, just drain the cooked apples and forget about the water quantity--just use enough to cover the apples, for simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
I don't like applesause that much but I made it and it is actually preaty good !!! (I didn't add as much water)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
When making this be sure to follow the other reviewers addvice and watch the amount of water that you choose to add. I didn't add any sugar despite the fact that I used Granny Smith apples as I like my applesauce very tart. A great recipe - I won't go back to store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

How to Make Grilled Fruit Skewers

Skewered strawberries, mangoes, papayas, and pineapples all excel on the grill.

How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

See the three simple steps to roasting pumpkin seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States