Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
OMG, why have I been buying Applesauce. I do admit that buying it is so much easier, but when I make it, I get to decide what goes in it. I didn't follow the recipe entirely, in fact I omitted the sugar and the lemon juice. It tasted just like the unsweetened sauce that I would buy at the store. Now I know what to do with my apples when no one is interested in eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by walkmerr

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This tastes very yummy. I used a bit less sugar, and added cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Adams, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chatham, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Followed the instructions exactly. It came out perfect. We did have some green-ish apples from our tree, so maybe really ripe apples would need less sugar. I also hate cinnamon, so no additions were needed to this recipe. PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Just made this recipe this morning and loved it. It's simple, easy and taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
my contribution to the Thanksgiving meal is homemade applesauce, I use a combination of Granny Smiths, Macintosh and Honey Crisps,tasting and adding any spices or sugars after cooking to taste.If making for a crowd don't forget to add a little lemon juice to the apple slices to keep from turning color
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This is a great recipe! My son loves it! He's such a selective eater, too! I would cut back on the sugar and water next time, though. My2babies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I skipped out on the sugar altogether because I felt the apples would be sweet enough. I did modify, but this is a great base recipe otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
A good basic recipe. Add some cinnamon or other spices to make it 5-star-worthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I found this recipe simple to understand and easy to follow. However, I used overripe Gala and Fuji apples, which are already very sweet and tart - which made it possible to make the applesauce without any sugar added! Also, some cinnamon would have made it a bit more palatable. But it did go well with my latkes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Auriam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I've made this several times and love how easy it is to end up with a GREAT taste! We like a super-smooth appleasauce, so I use my immersion blender right in the pot. Sugar can be adjusted according to taste/type of apples; can add cinnamon or red hots or as written: all are winners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States