Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
OMG, why have I been buying Applesauce. I do admit that buying it is so much easier, but when I make it, I get to decide what goes in it. I didn't follow the recipe entirely, in fact I omitted the sugar and the lemon juice. It tasted just like the unsweetened sauce that I would buy at the store. Now I know what to do with my apples when no one is interested in eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by walkmerr

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This tastes very yummy. I used a bit less sugar, and added cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Adams, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chatham, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Followed the instructions exactly. It came out perfect. We did have some green-ish apples from our tree, so maybe really ripe apples would need less sugar. I also hate cinnamon, so no additions were needed to this recipe. PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Just made this recipe this morning and loved it. It's simple, easy and taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
my contribution to the Thanksgiving meal is homemade applesauce, I use a combination of Granny Smiths, Macintosh and Honey Crisps,tasting and adding any spices or sugars after cooking to taste.If making for a crowd don't forget to add a little lemon juice to the apple slices to keep from turning color
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This is a great recipe! My son loves it! He's such a selective eater, too! I would cut back on the sugar and water next time, though. My2babies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I skipped out on the sugar altogether because I felt the apples would be sweet enough. I did modify, but this is a great base recipe otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
A good basic recipe. Add some cinnamon or other spices to make it 5-star-worthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I found this recipe simple to understand and easy to follow. However, I used overripe Gala and Fuji apples, which are already very sweet and tart - which made it possible to make the applesauce without any sugar added! Also, some cinnamon would have made it a bit more palatable. But it did go well with my latkes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Auriam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I've made this several times and love how easy it is to end up with a GREAT taste! We like a super-smooth appleasauce, so I use my immersion blender right in the pot. Sugar can be adjusted according to taste/type of apples; can add cinnamon or red hots or as written: all are winners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States