Applesauce Wheat Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I added a tablespoon of dried lemon zest, a 1/2 C sugar, 2 T honey, 1 T vanilla extract, and 1 t almond extract. I also used thawed frozen blueberries, and I put it in my kitchen-Aid mixer with the dough hook on speed 4, which really helped with bursting the fruit to increase moisture. I also tampered with the ration of whole wheat to regular flour, and I used Hungarian unbleached flour. I had to lengthen my bake time to 35 minutes. I decided to try this recipe because I am out of eggs right now, and I would have to say that these are a bit more crumbly than with an egg in the mix. My 7 year old taste tester and I think it could use more salt, or some butter. not bad though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tangerine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I only use whole wheat for cooking and baking and saw right off that I would alter the ingredients, especially the liquids, but thought that it made a great "base" with which to start. I didn't use any milk or sugar or eggs. Ingredients I added and/or added as substitutions were Trop 50 juice (reduced sugar kind), vanilla, cinnamon and raisins. I altered amounts of most everything and it resulted in everyone being happy with them. Moist, light (for whole wheat), tasty and without the whole wheat flavor some people don't like. I haven't listed the alterations since they really made it a new recipe, but as I said, it's a good whole wheat base to fiddle with if you're familiar with whole wheat and baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
These needed more moisture. so I added more apple sauce and more milk. A bit if sugar would be good too. I used the motts blueberry/apple-apple sauce. The sweetness comes from around the blueberries, so putting more in is not a bad idea. I WON't be making these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This recipe needs a lot of help!! The version I made would get a 5 star rating but if I had to rate this recipe unaltered I would give it a 3. Here are the ingredients I used. 2 cups all-purpose flour, 1/4 sugar, 3 tsp baking powder, 1/2 tsp salt, 1 cup applesauce, 1/2 cup milk, 1/4 cup oil, 1 cup frozen red raspberries. I mixed the raspberries in with the dry ingredients to keep them from sticking together in the wet batter. These muffins are so moist and puffed up nicely. This recipe made 12 muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
These were not bad at all but I did make some changes as did others. I needed a muffin recipe because I was out of eggs this morning, so I was determined to make it work. :) I did double the milk, I used 1 cup of sweetened homemade applesauce, added 1/2 cup packed brown sugar, 1/2 cup of chocolate chips instead of blueberries, simply because I did not have blueberries, and 3/4 tsp. of cinnamon. I had some sliced almonds so I sprinkled the tops with those before baking. They were a wonderful muffin considering it does not have eggs and making those few adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariescottage

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Very disappointed in this recipe. I kept wondering what I did wrong when I looked at the batter before I baked them. I made them with my daughter and she was very excited to bake them and believed that they would be fine. After carefully rereading, and making sure we had included everything, I add more milk to give it some additional moisture. After baking them, I thought they were not very good. Other family members ate them and said that although not the best, they were okay. Blueberries are blueberries. I won't every make these again, but at least I didn't have to throw them away. They don't have enough liquid to start with but I don't know what else I would do to make them more eatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This recipe was great with the following changes: I increased the applesauce to 1 Cup after reading others reviews and used a full cup of frozen blueberries. I always mix the blueberries with the dry ingredients first so they do not clump together and then add the liquid ingredients. The batter is thick so make sure to mix well before putting in muffin cups. The result was 12 delicious, healthy and moist muffins. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I tried these muffins and no offense, the only tasty thing about them were the blueberries and the weren't dried blueberries. I will never make them again! What a waste of ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cake_monsta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Very good recipe. We have egg and milk allergies in my family, and this recipe easily accommodates us because it's eggless and uses oil rather than butter. I used apple juice in place of the milk. I did add about 1/2 cup sugar because my goal wasn't necessarily a really healthy muffin, but I may try to taper that down next time and see how low I can get it. I also used all fresh ground whole wheat flour because that was what I had on hand. My kids loved these muffins. My older ones remember blueberry muffins from the days before their egg-allergic little brother was born, and they're really glad I finally found a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Blah, very bland muffins. I like breakfast muffins with little sugar but these had little taste. I had to add 1/4 cup of milk and 1/4 cup of applesauce, otherwise it was too stiff. I even threw in 1/8 cup of sugar just to sweeten it up a tad. I used frozen mixed berries instead of dried blueberries. I would use this recipe again as a base but would add cinnamon or something to add SOME flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuperMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tofield, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States