Applesauce Wheat Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Definitely needs some adjusting. I doubled the milk and added an egg and 1/2 C. sugar. Then put in tons of FRESH blueberries, strawberries, and canned peaches. They were truly great. Made a dozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
These were great! I used all whole wheat flour. They were surprisingly sweet enough. I had enough to make a dozen muffins. If you are on Weight Watchers, making them this way gives 2 points a muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
These were really good. I used 2 cups of wheat flour and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
I may have done something wrong, but this recipe did not seem to have near enough liquid. I ended up adding more milk and an egg! The finished product had a very nice taste, with plenty of natural sweetness. I wanted a whole grain recipe for my toddler that contained fruit and no added sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This recipe was great with the following changes: I increased the applesauce to 1 Cup after reading others reviews and used a full cup of frozen blueberries. I always mix the blueberries with the dry ingredients first so they do not clump together and then add the liquid ingredients. The batter is thick so make sure to mix well before putting in muffin cups. The result was 12 delicious, healthy and moist muffins. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I made a few alterations, but after the alterations, these were THE BEST eggless muffins I've made and among the best muffins of any kind. Instead of applesauce, I used mashed banana. I also added 1/4 cup rice syrup and only 2 Tbsp milk, though I think it would be OK without the syrup. You could also use honey. I used frozen blueberries. I'm so happy to have finally found a good eggless muffin that doesn't use egg replacer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I liked the idea of using applesause & wheat flour. I tried the original recipe as is, and it was WAY to dry. I ended up adding an egg, some more milk, and some sugar. They turned out very nice with the modification. I will not make this again. In search of another good healthy blueberry muffin receipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Blah, very bland muffins. I like breakfast muffins with little sugar but these had little taste. I had to add 1/4 cup of milk and 1/4 cup of applesauce, otherwise it was too stiff. I even threw in 1/8 cup of sugar just to sweeten it up a tad. I used frozen mixed berries instead of dried blueberries. I would use this recipe again as a base but would add cinnamon or something to add SOME flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuperMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tofield, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
For the sake of the recipe, I made it the way it is entered. Not good. They are dry; more like an unsweetened scone or whole wheat biscut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daysee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Helena, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Very disappointed in this recipe. I kept wondering what I did wrong when I looked at the batter before I baked them. I made them with my daughter and she was very excited to bake them and believed that they would be fine. After carefully rereading, and making sure we had included everything, I add more milk to give it some additional moisture. After baking them, I thought they were not very good. Other family members ate them and said that although not the best, they were okay. Blueberries are blueberries. I won't every make these again, but at least I didn't have to throw them away. They don't have enough liquid to start with but I don't know what else I would do to make them more eatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States