Applesauce Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I used fresh blueberries, instead of raisins; two eggs instead of one; pumpkin spice, instead of cinnamon; pecans, instead of walnuts, and dusted heavily with powdered sugar. REALLY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I added a little nutmeg and allspice. Served the bars with whipped cream, and they tasted just like apple jacks cereal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clinton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erika H.
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
These are dense cookie bars. My house smells great when I bake them. I made the following changes: I used oil instead of butter, brown sugar instead of regular, replaced half the flour with whole wheat flour, used no eggs, no vanilla, no nuts, added 1/4 tsp nutmeg, and baking powder instead of baking soda. I baked them at 350 in a 9x13in pan for about 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika H.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pacifica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
This was excellent! I used 1/4 cup more flour and put in 13x9" pan for 30 minutes. Then I topped it with a buttermilk glaze. I am going to make it again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
These turned out very tasty! The texture is more like a light quickbread or a cake than a bar, but the flavor is excellent. I doubled the recipe, and actually ended up baking part of it in a 9x13 glass pan and part of it in a 9" glass pie plate (each for about 35 minutes I think, I timed until 30 and then just tested a few times until it was done). I also substitued 4 mashed ripe bananas fir the eggs (other reviews had said to use 2 eggs, so I used 4 bananas when doubling the recipe) and this gave a SUPER banana flavor, which I like, but you could also taste the cinnamon, applesauce and the raisins. SUPER MOIST AND YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goudamanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
As others said, the pan size is out of whack given the volume of batter. Needs at least a 9x9 inch pan or larger. It's a useful recipe when I have a lot of applesauce on hand. Easy to prepare but it does need a topping (ice cream, whipped cream or glaze).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
This was such a hit with my family! I had to substitute some things due to food allergies (used olive oil instead of butter, rice flour, sunflower seeds instead of walnuts). I also used 2 eggs and it made it just like a cake. I'm planning on making it for my son's birthday cake (since he's the one with all the food allergies). I've made it 3 times in the last 3 weeks and for different people- everyone raves about it and it's pretty healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
Excellent!!! The kids loved them also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belinda Jenkin
Home Town: Anaconda, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
I am not a fan of this recipe. It is missing something and it took more like an hour to cook. I would suggest using a 13X9 pan to cook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
These were good. They tasted more like apple cake or bread than like brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States