Applesauce Snacking Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2003
VERY GOOD! Big hit at a party at our senior center. At most parties you eat whatever cake they have or you don't eat it because of the sugar. This was a great alternative and didn't taste like "fake cake". I had many requests to make it again. (I doubled the recipe and added a couple of tablespoons each of nuts and raisins.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
a very delicious cake...big hit with company and very easy to make..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
Exceptionally moist - make ahead and freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Very moist and tasty. I added walnuts and served with a dollop of non-fat, no sugar added vanilla yogurt. Nice Fall dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Yummy, yummy, yummy!!! I doubled the recipe, used 9x13 metal cake pan, and, for the Splenda, I used 1/2 cup of Splenda for Baking and 1 1/2 cups of regular Splenda. I was so good that it didn't even last 24 hours! And, even better yet, I ate so much of it, I thought for sure, I would have gained 10 lbs, but I didn't gain even 1!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
This was the first recipe I tried and it turned out FANTASTIC! It's nice to have a treat now and then....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
Until very recently, I had cooked the oldfashioned way...diabetes changed that. This is the first cake I have tried, and we loved it. Moist, sweet, spicy, light, delicious...it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This was a wonderful cake for my mother-in-law's birthday. Everyone loved it. I doubled the recipe with the following modifications: 3 teaspoons cinnamon (instead of 4); 1 1/2 cups splenda and 1/2 cup sugar (instead of 2 cups splenda). For the reduced fat margarine, I used smart balance 50/50 butter blend. Also, I only baked for 30 minutes even though I had doubled the recipe to make a 9x13 cake. It turned out so delicious and moist!! I served with sugar free cool whip. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
This is easy to make but the directions must be followed exactly. An electric mixer is necessary. Very good for a diabetic recipe - moist and soft. Would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
I made this cake twice and it was quite good. I added walnuts to the batter. The cake has a spicy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States