Applesauce Snacking Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
This is easy to make but the directions must be followed exactly. An electric mixer is necessary. Very good for a diabetic recipe - moist and soft. Would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
this was pretty good diet cake. It tastes more like gingerbread than applesauce. All of the diet cakes have that sort of slight spongy gummy texture. It was good to be so healthy. I substituted smuckers oil/shortening mixture for the margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2003
VERY GOOD! Big hit at a party at our senior center. At most parties you eat whatever cake they have or you don't eat it because of the sugar. This was a great alternative and didn't taste like "fake cake". I had many requests to make it again. (I doubled the recipe and added a couple of tablespoons each of nuts and raisins.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
This is quite moist and yummy. It does not taste like sugar free dessert. I have already made it twice, once as cupcakes, and have recieved many compliments. I added a little extra cinnamon. The recipe does need to be followed carefully, but it is not difficult even with a hand mixer. I will make this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
We added 1/2 c. chopped walnuts, and used Smart Balance for the margarine. We also added 1 t. orange zest to batter. It was made as a dessert so we frosted it with a combination of Cool Whip, O. J., pumpkin pie spice, orange zest and a package of SF instant white chocolate pudding mix. We topped the whole thing with canned SF apple pie filling also tweaked with pumpkin pie spice and orange zest. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
This was OK. Smelled and tasted way to much like molasses, next time I will cut back on that and maybe add more cinnamon. Also, had that typical Splenda after taste, so I will try with the sugar/Splenda blend. Texture was fine, no problems there. Great for those cutting out sugar and watching calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
I make this every Christmas for gifts. However, I add raisins, nuts and more and spices, e.g., cinnamin, ground cloves, allspice and nutmeg. Plus I always double the recipe. Everyone I've even given this to loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
The cake was very moist and spicy. I made it as a single layer and as a 2-layer cake. I used the suggestion for the whipped cream and white chocolate pudding frosting in another review. The only change to that suggestion is to fully prepare the pudding first according to package directions and THEN add it to the whipped cream. Makes for a very creamy and tasty frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
a very delicious cake...big hit with company and very easy to make..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
I made this cake twice and it was quite good. I added walnuts to the batter. The cake has a spicy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States