Applesauce Rum-Raisin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Pay no heed to the 3 star reviews that say this cake is too dry, or not Rummish enough. Maybe it is in the original form, but use this twist: Use a full 1/2 cup rum to soak raisins. Also use this to glaze the cake fresh out of the oven: 1/4 C butter, 1/4 C Sucanat or Turbinado sugar, 1/4c (or a *tad* less if you prefer) rum. its fantastic. i also use a half and half Sucanat- turbinado sugar mix for the cake itself. It is healthier than white sugar and really you can't tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I am surprised that anyone would describe this as a rum cake. I was quite liberal in my use of rum, and actually added more than the 1 cup of rum soaked raisins called for (additionally, I soaked my raisins in rum for several days), but no rum taste was discernible in the finished cake. I would describe this as a snack cake. It is moist and mildly spiced, not overly sweet, yet does not require a frosting or glaze. It is relatively healthy for a cake, and makes a good lunch box addition, or simply a nice snack for the kids. It is not an exceptional recipe in any way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
My family just loves it. And friends are asking for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Hazelwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This turned out perfectly the first time I tried it. I didn't have cocoa powder so I added extra cinnamon and nutmeg, and dusted the top with some powdered sugar. Very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
I loved this cake! It had more of a banana bread consistency which made it great. I too halved the applesauce and put diced fuji apples (the sweetest). I used all golden raisins and let them marinate in the rum for two days. Sooooo good. My dad loved his birthday cake. Thanks for the wonderful recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Somma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Matawan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Keyport, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
Oh yes ! I forgot to mention: make it in a bundt pan for a better presentation! Have fun...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
This cake has been the talk of the office. I put a little twist by using half applesauce and half chopped fresh sweet apples. WOW. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2002
What a wonderful recipe!!This was the most delicious rum cake I have ever tried!!I used a little more rum :-))))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
My family loved this one. I glazed the top with leftover rum. Gave if a good rum aroma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States