Applesauce Rum-Raisin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Pay no heed to the 3 star reviews that say this cake is too dry, or not Rummish enough. Maybe it is in the original form, but use this twist: Use a full 1/2 cup rum to soak raisins. Also use this to glaze the cake fresh out of the oven: 1/4 C butter, 1/4 C Sucanat or Turbinado sugar, 1/4c (or a *tad* less if you prefer) rum. its fantastic. i also use a half and half Sucanat- turbinado sugar mix for the cake itself. It is healthier than white sugar and really you can't tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I am surprised that anyone would describe this as a rum cake. I was quite liberal in my use of rum, and actually added more than the 1 cup of rum soaked raisins called for (additionally, I soaked my raisins in rum for several days), but no rum taste was discernible in the finished cake. I would describe this as a snack cake. It is moist and mildly spiced, not overly sweet, yet does not require a frosting or glaze. It is relatively healthy for a cake, and makes a good lunch box addition, or simply a nice snack for the kids. It is not an exceptional recipe in any way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
My family just loves it. And friends are asking for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Hazelwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This turned out perfectly the first time I tried it. I didn't have cocoa powder so I added extra cinnamon and nutmeg, and dusted the top with some powdered sugar. Very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
I loved this cake! It had more of a banana bread consistency which made it great. I too halved the applesauce and put diced fuji apples (the sweetest). I used all golden raisins and let them marinate in the rum for two days. Sooooo good. My dad loved his birthday cake. Thanks for the wonderful recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Somma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Matawan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Keyport, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
Oh yes ! I forgot to mention: make it in a bundt pan for a better presentation! Have fun...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
This cake has been the talk of the office. I put a little twist by using half applesauce and half chopped fresh sweet apples. WOW. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2002
What a wonderful recipe!!This was the most delicious rum cake I have ever tried!!I used a little more rum :-))))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
My family loved this one. I glazed the top with leftover rum. Gave if a good rum aroma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States