Applesauce Raisin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Very nice! It tasted like the Archway hermit cookies I remember fondly from my childhood, though the cut sides of the cake dry out REALLY fast; maybe because applesauce is used instead of oil?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morgi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Bad, bad, bad. Not worth the trouble to modify the recipe. There are numerous great recipes available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I just made half of the recipe and it was plenty for a small bundt pan. I was wanting something spicy and this cake was perfect. No icing needed, I just sifted powdered sugar on top after it was cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
We halved the recipe and added 1/2 tsp of salt and 1/2 tsp of baking powder and baked it in a 9x9 at 350 for about 35 minutes. It's beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I cut this recipe in half. I did not add nuts only because I didn't have any. I made muffins out of this recipe. I got exactly 12 muffins out of one recipe. Very moist and flavorful quick bread recipe, we liked this a lot. GREAT with a hot cup of coffee. I think I could cut back on the sugar by at least half next time and not miss it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
My husband went nuts over this cake! It's very flavorful and moist, and it really doesn't need any frosting. I think of it as a 'snack' cake, good for lunch boxes and great with a cup of coffee for breakfast. I used 2 cups white whole wheat flour and 2 cups AP and it was still a very moist cake and slightly healthier version. I cut back on the sugar to 1 and 2/3 cup, still sweet enough for us. I also added a bit of salt. I thought maybe I should add some vanilla, but it is just fine without it. Next time I might bake it in a jelly roll pan...this cake is very tall and takes near an hour to bake. In spite of that extra cooking time, the cake did not dry out on the edges or the top at all. One more thing...I would suggest baking this a day ahead...it is so much better today and it slices much easier too. Love this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
This recipe is great! You pretty much just through every thing together and it comes out great, the only thing I disliked about it was that it took so long in the oven, it's such a low heat that it takes a while. But the texture was great and we all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKING4MYBOYS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I disagree with previous raters about the heaviness - I made two modifications: added 1/2 tsp of salt and used TWO baking pans, one 9X9 and the other 9X13. The final product was light, moist and very tasty. I would definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2002
While this cake was good, it was way too heavy (for me). Plus the cooking time needed an additional 30 minutes. The consistency reminded me of a bread pudding recipe we have in the family. For now, I will continue to use my Fannie Farmer recipe. It WAS GOOD. Just didn't care for the denseness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2002
I did this in a glass pan and it took longer about an hour. I also used chunky applesauce. I also topped it with a carmel frosting. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mullica Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States