Applesauce Raisin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Very moist but too dense and doughy tasting. Ok to eat, but will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
this bread is FABULOUS! i decreased the oil by half and replaced with a bit more applesauce as others did. beyond that i was true to the recipe and it turned out great. very moist, and almost a cake-like texture, but we all really enjoyed this. the oatmeal gives it a great texture, too. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
My family LOVED this!! So moist! I replaced the raisins with figs, and it tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chinachewy
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This is really good bread. I added a glaze on top for a sweet kick. Medium heat, melt 1/4 cup butter, add 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/2 tablespoon vanilla, 1/8 molasses. Drizzle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chinachewy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
very nice bread. it's slightly sweet, but not too sweet, and is chock full of flavor and moistness. bravo on the recipe! I didn't have a problem with taking it out of the pan relatively quickly . . .I may have waited a few minutes--not sure, but it came out just fine. the only thing I didn't use in the recipe was soaking the raisins in apple juice. i just tossed them in without bothering with that step, and ti turned out fine. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Very, very good! I didn't have quick-cooking oats, but it still turned out nicely. I disagree with turning it out of the pan immediately...it fell apart, and in my experience, that happens when you turn it out too soon. Next time, I'll let it sit for ten minutes before turning. It is lightweight and flavorful. If you're finding your quick breads to be dense, it's likely you're overstirring. When you combine the wet & dry ingredients, stir it gently with a rubber spatula just until it is blended. It should come out great then!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
A delicious bread that tastes like apple crisp! I added about 1/4 tsp. of nutmeg and increased the brown sugar to a full cup. I used less than half the amount of oil and it still came out incredibly moist. I also added one chopped apple and next time I might add some chopped walnuts and a little vanilla. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Chicken
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This was so easy to make as part of a gift platter. I did not have quick cooking oats so I pulsed normal rolled oats in a blender until very fine and that worked well as a substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
YUM! Smelled and tasted delicious.... very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alyson_a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
This is a good recipe especially for a breakfast bread (one feels like they are getting their cereal but a little more interesting). Have to agree with other reviewers that it does need something to pep up the flavour and, for me, is to substitute 1/4 cup frozen concentrated orange juice for the apple juice. Orange and oatmeal make a good marriage. Hope this is helpful to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States