Applesauce Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
This a pretty good recipe with a little modificattion. You DEFINITELY need to add a bit more flavor- 1 tsp vanilla, 1 tspn salt, 2 tspns of cinnamon and I added a pinch of nutmeg(1/4 tspn)and some raisins. They turned out tasty and wholesome. I also substituted a bit of the butter for plain yogurt to reduce the fat further and used 1/2 whole wheat flour. I think if you want to you could even reduce the sugar just a little too. Good recipe as healthy alternative without losing flavor (if you remember these modifications above :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
258 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
People often forget to calculate sugar intake when they're thinking "healthy." Even non-diabetics need to watch their processed sugar inatake. If you really want this to be a healthy recipe, make sure you're using home-made or "natural" applesauce - regular store-bought applesauce has processed sugars in it. I'd cut down the brown sugar, too, although I know that takes away some of the YUM factor! You could try a natural sweetener like honey or apple juice concentrate, or use Stevia. Honey is great when you're baking with whole grains because the whole grain binds to the honey sugars and digests it differently - your body doesn't realize it's sugar. Just a few thoughts. Great cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2005
Surprisingly delicious and wholesome after reading some of the reviews on these cookies! I was looking to use up some applesauce and oatmeal and have now discovered a healthy cookie, that even my pickiest child likes! I did use cinnamon applesauce instead of plain and about 1 tsp. cinnamon instead of the 1/2 tsp. the recipe called for, as well as 1/2 tsp. vanilla (since so many people said the cookies were bland) The results were 24 very nicely sized cookies and delicately sweet. Very fluffy and a bit like cake. Moist and not oily! The only thing I will do next time is add raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
This is an awesome recipe. I adjusted it some for several reasons however... First I am sensitive to wheat so I use a mixture of white rice flour and multi grain whole grain flour mixture that is gluten free. I do still use the oats so not 100% gluten free but close. I don't use the butter at all. Instead I use an entire cup of applesauce. I also only use 1/3 cup brown sugar and double the Cinnamon and add nutmeg and ground cloves for added sweetness and spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veedubgrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
These cookies are fantastic! They're easy and quick to make, and they bake up beautifully. I did add 1/2 teaspoon of mexican vanilla and 2 cups of chocolate chips to the batter. These additions made them especially tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
All the ingredients seemed like they would make a great cookie, but for some reason, these turned out like flavorless biscuits. They looked just like the picture. My husband took one bite and refused to eat anymore. I had to throw them out. If you're used to spicy, flavorful, thin and chewy oatmeal cookies, keep looking. These are more like oat biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, Montana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2001
Easy to make and pretty good taste. I added some vanilla. I nice way to use up extra apple sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
These cookies were not good at all. They're very bland and cakey, more like a dry oat bran muffin than a cookie. Even my 4-year-old who usually loves all cookies did not like them. No sugar? No vanilla? Only 1/3 cup of butter?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
If you're looking for a good cookie that's healthy, try this one! If you're looking for that "to die for" great cookie, this probably isn't the one. I added chocolate chips, vanilla and chopped walnuts. It's a good soft cookie, but it needs a little something more...nutmeg?...salt? I'm not sure, but I like the fact that it makes a small batch and I'll probably make again when I feel like something sweet without ruining the waistline.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
these were not too bad. i added 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla and cinnamon. they are rather bland compared to other oatmeal cookies, but the cakey-ness is kind of fun, it's almost like bread. they make a good treat to have around when you have the munchies. younger brothers and cousins thought they were pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States