Applesauce Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I follwed other reviewers' advice & added vanilla. While these weren't the best oatmeal cookies I've ever had, they were tasty & light-- a nice, quick, easy oatmeal cookie. I'd make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
They are ok, need a bit more applesauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
These cookies satisfied the sweet tooth of my family. Because I am baking for a diabetic I used splenda (with a small amount of brown sugar) I used whole wheat flour, cut the amount of butter down and increased the unsweetend apple sauce to replace it. I also added tsp vanilla, 1/4 tsp salt and pumkin pie spice. It actually came out very sweet. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma2-4

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Not too bad a cookie for using ingredients I had in the cupboard. Based on the reviews here, I doubled the cinnamon, used homemade unsweetened cinnamon applesauce, and zested half an orange into the dough. Without the orange, the cookies would have had little flavor. Cakey in a stick to the roof of your mouth sort of way. Not bad for a quickie, I need a cookie now fix, but not something I'll bother fixing again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Too cake-like for the amount of sweetness and density. The only changes I made were adding vanilla and quarter teaspoon of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
this recipe was ok but with a few additions it was much better. I substituded brown sugar for white and I also added vanilla and ground cloves.Also I added semi-sweet chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
The texture was a little soft, I prefer a crunchier cookie. But overall this was good. I added a little vanilla and I didn't have brown sugar so I used white and added a little maple syrup. I felt it was lacking a little, next time I may add raisins or something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This Oatmeal Cookie was perfect for us. The apple sauce gave it some extra flavor. It is now my favorite Oatmeal Cookie Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
OK. I substitued ground shredded wheat for half the flour and used wheat flour, I added almonds and dates as well as mashed banana.. I also cut the butter down and mixed the brown sugar with half splenda.. this made it much healthier,I have to give up a little of the yumminess, but I made them so at least I could eat them on this trip to loosing weight and keeping it off. 60 pounds and counting by making changes like this! NOt as tasty as my old life, but easier to live in my body..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doree'
Home Town: Ringwood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Warwick, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I found this recipe looking for a somewhat healthy snack for my daughter to take to school to help her make it to her late lunch period. I wanted something that was satisfying but also with some nutritional value. I hate to buy prepackaged stuff like this because it's so hard to find a good one that doesn't break the bank. After reading some of the reviews and changes from others I added these changes as well and was very pleased with the results. If you are looking for a traditional sweet/treat oatmeal cookie this isn't the recipe for you. Here are the changes I made. I added 1/4 tsp. salt, 1/2 tsp. of vanilla extract, 1 heaping tablespoon of soaked flax seeds, and substituted 1/2 cup of white flour for whole wheat flour. I also baked them for 12 mins at 350. The next time I fix these (and I will, even my sugar crazed teen son liked them) I will add a few more nutrient rich ingredients like ground pecans,walnuts, or almonds to sneak into my kids. These types of recipes are good to hide healthy ingredients kids would normally turn their noses up to. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SelenaFP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States