Applesauce Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
there just seems to be something missing. They are good compared to other low-fat ones, but overall, not fantastic. I added extra cinnamon like advised, but that didn't seem to do it for me either. Infact, the batter tastes better than the end result! They went stale very quick, must eat them all on day of baking - not a very low fat idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2005
Surprisingly delicious and wholesome after reading some of the reviews on these cookies! I was looking to use up some applesauce and oatmeal and have now discovered a healthy cookie, that even my pickiest child likes! I did use cinnamon applesauce instead of plain and about 1 tsp. cinnamon instead of the 1/2 tsp. the recipe called for, as well as 1/2 tsp. vanilla (since so many people said the cookies were bland) The results were 24 very nicely sized cookies and delicately sweet. Very fluffy and a bit like cake. Moist and not oily! The only thing I will do next time is add raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
THESE WERE VERY MOIST I ADDED RAISINS TO THEM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
My family DID NOT enjoy this cookie. It was caky and very heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
My family did not enjoy these at all. They were lacking in flavor and we prefer a less cake like cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
If you're looking for a good cookie that's healthy, try this one! If you're looking for that "to die for" great cookie, this probably isn't the one. I added chocolate chips, vanilla and chopped walnuts. It's a good soft cookie, but it needs a little something more...nutmeg?...salt? I'm not sure, but I like the fact that it makes a small batch and I'll probably make again when I feel like something sweet without ruining the waistline.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
These cookies are the best. They are soft and very delicious. The blend of applesauce and oats really go well together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
these were not too bad. i added 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla and cinnamon. they are rather bland compared to other oatmeal cookies, but the cakey-ness is kind of fun, it's almost like bread. they make a good treat to have around when you have the munchies. younger brothers and cousins thought they were pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
Good cookie! Changes: I used only 1/4 cup butter (easier measuring), added a banana (needed to be used), a tsp vanilla, and then some chocolate chips and raisins for the heck of it. They come out puffy, chewy, I guess cakey. My 2 year old called them "biscuits". Give this recipe a try if you want something healthy and different! Oh, I baked them at 350 instead of 375. As I type this, I'm on my 4th cookie- yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
The first time I made these cookies, I only added walnuts. They were a bit bland, but honestly it was what I was looking for. The second batch I added some vanilla as others recommended as well as the walnuts and cooked a tad bit longer and they were fabulous. Definitely moist and cakelike. My husband didn't like them at all which is great. This way I get to eat them all by myself!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States