Applesauce Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
Decent recipe. Family LOVED them but I thought it was ok. I used chunky applesauce for an added treat :)A nice healthy snack alternative
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Froggie Girl
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
I added pecans and raisins which added to the flavor. It is a "not too sweet" cookie, but we like it very much. Very nutritious with the applesauce, oats, pecans, and raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
Turned out soggy, even after cooking a bit longer. Weak on flavor. I would add more cinnamon and sugar if I made them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
great cookies so easy and the kids love them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pam purchase

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kentville, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
Good premise, but needs a lot of "tweaking." Bland, "cakey" and dry in texture. They were OK the first and second day, but were so dry as to be inedible by the third, and that should not be with a product made with applesauce. Not very sweet, which might appeal to some, but to our palates, it was lacking expected and needed sweetness. Sure, they're somewhat "healthy" compared to other cookies like chocolate chip, but many recipes have even more healthful ingredients and taste a lot better, so I didn't find this to be extraordinary in that way, either. In any case, these fell way short of expectation, and need enough experimentation to make the recipe right that I'll just keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
Great recipe-- with a few changes. I added a teaspoon vanilla, more cinn., a pinch of pumpkin pie spice, and a pinch of salt. I also cooked it for slightly longer than stated in order to reduce gooy-ness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
Thought these were yummy just the way they were. They are not an overly sweet cookie, but everyone at my house loved them, especially right out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
Easy and yummy! Went over well with everyone I made them for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
We LOVE these cookies (almost too much). They are like yummy little moist cookie cakes!!! I used whole wheat pastry flour (since we don't use white flour) and increased the cinnamon to 1 tsp. These are not bland at all - they disappear the day we make them! :) Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
This was the first time I made cookies in my life. I read all the other reviews and made the changes of 1/4 cup butter instead of 1/3, a little plain sugar on top of the brown, a banana, a little less flour, and 1/2 cup chocolate chips. This is a very delicious cookie. Some people complained about the blandness, but I didn't notice that with the changes I made. I give myself 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States