Applesauce Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I just tried this recipe thinking it would make great cookies. I was wrong. This is the worst Applesauce Cookie recipe I have ever had. I have been baking for over 30 yrs and never had a recipe turn out this badly. These cookies are almost uneatable! They are very dry and heavy; very much like a biscuit. They make better paper weights than cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Bronson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
If you like really fluffy cookies, this is the cookie to make. Even with me adding more cinnamon and vanilla these cookies were SUPER BLAND! I would not try this recipe if you are looking for the thin, crisp oatmeal cookies grandma used to make--- I will be searching for a different recipe to try. This one did not scare me away it was just not worth the waste of my ingredients. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Didn't have white flour so I used wheat flour, gave the cookie a bit of a darker color, but tasted good. We added raisens and cranberries and a little nutmeg. The cookies were very good, soft but not too soft. I especially liked the fact that they weren't overly sweet. For a 'healthy' cookie, I would recommend it. My wife said it cries out for a cup of coffee when your eating it. Oh, hated the fact that it tells you the calories per serving, but doesn't tell you how many cookies equals one serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
I had some cinnamon chai organic oats on hand and also used a splash of maple extract I had left over from christmas...So delicious! I wish the cookies browned up a bit more- it was difficult to determine done-ness and I burned a couple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Solid 3.5 to 4 star rating, for what it's meant to be - which is a healthy, low-fat cookie. Keeping that in mind, I would definitely make it again, on a monthly or bi-monthly basis, so that I'll have some tasty AND easy-on-the-waistline treats available for those times when cookie cravings hit! Based on the items in my pantry, reading other reviews, and my own preference for a less-sweet but still flavourful cookie, I made 6 changes: *to use 1/2 cup white sugar (because I had no brown sugar), *to use 1 tsp baking powder (because I had no baking soda), *to use 1/2 cup quick oats and 3/4 cup rolled oats, *to add 1 tsp vanilla, *to add 1 tsp cinnamon, *to add 1/2 tsp salt. I refrigerated the dough for 15 minutes, then dropped them by the spoonful on a greased, lined cookie sheet, and baked for 12 minutes. (I rotated my cookie sheet after 6 minutes, to ensure even baking). In total, this made 40 bite-sized cookies (in 2 batches). They make a GREAT afternoon snack to go with a cuppa joe or tea. :) Try this, you won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BeJu
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Modified recipe by adding 1tsp vanilla extract, 1tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp apple pie spice, 1/4 cup raisins and chocolate chips studded on top. Texture is light, a little muffin-like, moist, not chewy or crispy. Not too sweet, the addition of the chocolate chips worked well. The finished colour is very light, maybe some cocoa powder would add some nice golden browns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
These were more like scones than cookies and yummy whilef being likely sweet and cakey. I also altered the recipe a bit: - whole wheat flour (not white) - 3/4 cup raisins - 1/2 cup chopped nuts - sucanat which is dried sugar cane (not brown sugar) I used all-organic ingredients, maybe more for the psychological "yum" factor than anything else. :) I made larger scoops (15 total) and baked for 12-15 minutes. In the future I might try to add some other things like nutmeg or something. Good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Wow, this is a great recipe and very forgiving! I made it as is and it was wonderful. I then reduced the sugar to haf a cup total (brown), added stuff that I had like hemp seed, flax seed, and coconut, and ommitted walnuts so the kids could take them to school. I even used blueberry apple sauce that my daughter wouldn't eat. They were just as awesome! 3 times with different ingred. and each time soft chewy, sweet and delicious! Best cookie recipe to date!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
VERY good, could have used maybe a bit more cinnamon maybe? And maybe because I used homemade applesauce made w/ 9 different varieties of apples, but I thought the apple flavor was stellar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I'd like to know how anyone would consider this recipe healthy when there's so much sugar and almost 200 calories, aside from the fat content, per cookie. I give it an extra star for having oats in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States