Applesauce Oatmeal Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I usually don't like it when people review a recipe after having made a ton of changes to it, but this time I must. This is a great recipe as is, but today at work, I adapted it to include some chopped apples and some leftover oatmeal from breakfast. We were short on butter so I substituted shortening, we were short on raisins so I added some chopped apples as well, and I wanted to use up the leftover oatmeal so I reduced the amount of milk and applesauce and dumped the leftovers in. The cake is nice and heavy, moist and spicy, and really smelled wonderful baking. It tastes delicious warm from the oven, and I'm willing to bet it will be delicious cold, too. Oh, and I only used 1 teaspoon, rather than 1 Tablespoon, of baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SylviaRebecca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2000
I think the measurement for the baking powder should have been 1 tsp instead of 1 Tablespoon. Everyone said the cake was good but I could taste the baking powder and did not enjoy the cake (but I'm critical of my cooking).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
Yum...I was looking for a snack cake to have around and this is it!! The changes I made from the recipe was using 1/2 cup softened butter, 1 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar, added 1/8th tsp ginger to the spices and soaking the raisins in apple cider before adding to the batter. I also used 3 eggs instead of 4. It just got out of the oven and while it is awfully crumbly right now I haven't even waited for it to cool properly yet and I'm sure it will firm up slightly while cool. I also drizzled a thin glaze made from powdered sugar and apple cider on while still warm but in truth it is sweet enough without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
There isn't a thing about this recipe that I would change. Even thought a few of the proportions seemed unusual, I went ahead and trusted the recipe and I'm glad I did. The creator of this recipe definitely means to use 1 Tbl. baking powder and 3/4 tsp. cloves! Don't be afraid! The cake turned out really moist, flavorful and dense, as a good snack cake should be. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
I really liked this recipe especially hot out of the oven! Mmmm mmmmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Brilliant recipe, I too was worried about the tablespoon of baking powder, but it works great! In the UK you can't buy jars of applesauce so I made some from Bramley Apples, worked a treat, moist, tasty and got lots of compliments at church!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Very good moist cake and very close to what I made for special "MAN" birthdays years ago. I had lost the recipe and now will use this one, thanks. I made this in two 8" rounds with cream cheese frosting for my son's 31st birthday, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
This is really a wonderful recipe!! Moist and full of flavor. Doesn't need frosting at all. It's very much like banana bread but much lighter in texture. Melt in your mouth good!! I didn't change a thing. I baked it at 325 (I used my convection oven) for 60 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2000
This is the closest recipe I have found to an old favorite, named "Fine & Vital Oat Cake", that I found in a Sunset Magazine in the 1970's. Unfortunately that recipe burned with my house two years ago and nobody in my family had the recipe ... and I have spend 2 years on the web trying to find anything close to it. Packs well, goes camping well, is a great oat cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2004
I WAS LOOKING FOR AN OATMEAL BUNDT CAKE FOR MY NEIHBOR CELEBRATING HIS 82ND BIRTHDAY. I MADE THIS FOR HIM AND THE CAKE WAS ENJOYED AND EATEN BY THE END OF THE DAY. HE AND HIS FAMILY ASKED ME FOR THE RECIPE BECAUSE THEY HAD NEVER HAD A BETTER TASTING, MORE MOIST CAKE. THANK YOU FOR THIS RECIPE MY DEAR NEIGHBOR'S 82ND BIRTHDAY EXTRA HAPPY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States