Applesauce Oatmeal Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2000
This is the closest recipe I have found to an old favorite, named "Fine & Vital Oat Cake", that I found in a Sunset Magazine in the 1970's. Unfortunately that recipe burned with my house two years ago and nobody in my family had the recipe ... and I have spend 2 years on the web trying to find anything close to it. Packs well, goes camping well, is a great oat cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2000
I think the measurement for the baking powder should have been 1 tsp instead of 1 Tablespoon. Everyone said the cake was good but I could taste the baking powder and did not enjoy the cake (but I'm critical of my cooking).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
Yum...I was looking for a snack cake to have around and this is it!! The changes I made from the recipe was using 1/2 cup softened butter, 1 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar, added 1/8th tsp ginger to the spices and soaking the raisins in apple cider before adding to the batter. I also used 3 eggs instead of 4. It just got out of the oven and while it is awfully crumbly right now I haven't even waited for it to cool properly yet and I'm sure it will firm up slightly while cool. I also drizzled a thin glaze made from powdered sugar and apple cider on while still warm but in truth it is sweet enough without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2004
I WAS LOOKING FOR AN OATMEAL BUNDT CAKE FOR MY NEIHBOR CELEBRATING HIS 82ND BIRTHDAY. I MADE THIS FOR HIM AND THE CAKE WAS ENJOYED AND EATEN BY THE END OF THE DAY. HE AND HIS FAMILY ASKED ME FOR THE RECIPE BECAUSE THEY HAD NEVER HAD A BETTER TASTING, MORE MOIST CAKE. THANK YOU FOR THIS RECIPE MY DEAR NEIGHBOR'S 82ND BIRTHDAY EXTRA HAPPY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
This is a great recipe! I substituted dried cranberries for the raisins, and used 2 loaf pans instead of the tube pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
I really liked this recipe especially hot out of the oven! Mmmm mmmmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
made this today, used 3/4 cup brown sugar and 3/4 cup white sugar, didn't have raisins so i added 1/8 cup applesauce and 1/4 cup oats, and because i love spice, added a 1/2 teaspoon allspice and 1/4 teaspoon more nutmeg, and i took this cake to a class i go to, and i kid you not, it was gone. i was told by two of them that they don't even like nuts, but that it was perfect with it(i used coarsely chopped pecans and walnuts). it smelled and tasted wonderful, very moist, chewy, and i had cooked it in a bundt pan with no problem. so glad i found this recipe, a definate hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILSKIBO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
This was pretty good. I used 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1 cup Splenda to reduce the amount of sugar. I also left out the raisins and I think that was a big mistake! Not bad though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, California, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This is a pretty good cake! I halved the recipe and baked it in an 8 by 8 pan because I don't have a tube pan. I also doubled the cinnamon, used half brown sugar, left out the nuts and used dried cranberries instead of raisins. I can't decide if I like it better with or without the cranberries (I'm not a big fan of "things" in my cake or bread) but a cranberry glaze or something would be really good. I'll make this again, it's quite fluffy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
This is really a wonderful recipe!! Moist and full of flavor. Doesn't need frosting at all. It's very much like banana bread but much lighter in texture. Melt in your mouth good!! I didn't change a thing. I baked it at 325 (I used my convection oven) for 60 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States