Applesauce Oatie Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Yum! I subbed in 1/2 cup whole wheat flour, but otherwise made as written. The cookies are soft, and wanted to crumble when I took them off the pan ( we made HUGE cookies!) but stuck together once they cooled. Each one was a very hearty snack. We soaked our raisins in lemonade for an hour, then drained them, before using them in the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Love this recipe because it only uses 1/2 cup butter unlike the usual 1 cup. It also combines my two favorite cookies, oatmeal raisin and chocolate chip. My husband and I ate almost the entire batch the evening that I made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
These are great, especially considering that they don't contain a ton of fat. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Yum-eee! These are more cake-like than most cookies, but that doesn't matter to us. I leave out the white sugar completely, since it's plenty sweet with the brown sugar, applesauce, raisins, and chocolate. I also used half whole wheat and half white flour (3/4 cups of each). These are tasty treats that my kids love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
These were fantastic. My husband could stop eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Longeway Hogan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Turned out like cake instead of cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valleycook111

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagan, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Delish! I made them with white chocolate chips and craisins. It is the perfect combination of sweet, tart, and a little salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Great Recipe. I unfortunately didn't have enough oats, but I just substituted with flour. I also added 1/4 tsp ground ginger and 1 tbsp vanilla. Super good. A little sweet for me personally, but the whole family loved it. I had to hid them to save some for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
I love applesauce cookies, but these came out dry for me. Maybe because I made them in the desert? Good flavor, but dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheOtherHunny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Delish! I modified a little to make a bit more healthy of a snack for my 18 mo old twins, and used 1/2 c reg flour and 1 c whole wheat flour. Used 1/2 tsp additional cinnamon, a little vanilla, about a spoon full of vanilla yogurt (I thought it looked a little dry), and left out the chocolate chips, nuts, and raisins. A keeper recipe. *edit* Just made these with a small chopped up apple (about a cup).. it is a wonderful replacement if you don't use raisins. I also added a dash or two of cloves.. these are still one of my favorites to bake :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States