Applesauce Oatie Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I thought these cookies were okay. I guess I really don't care for chocolate chips in the oatmeal cookie but that is a personal taste. They are very moist, baked up nice, lots of flavors going on, easy to assemble and bake, but don't think I'll make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Made the cookies first time exactly as written and they were delicious. 2nd time, I had about 3/4 of a cup of left over pumpkin puree and replaced the applesause with the pumpkin. My grand daughter is on a bit of a butterscotch kick, so I used butterscotch chips with the pumpkin and they were really nice cookies. I did find the cookies needed more like 12-14 mins to bake fully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnamosk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Jenn
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
These were really good! The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars, is because the recipe needed a little tweaking. I made them as written, it doesn't say how big of a spoonful to drop them on the sheet. I made them rather large like I always make oatmeal cookies, but they spread out a lot! I wound up with 6 pancake size cookies that fell apart! I added another 1/4 to a 1/2 cup more oats to the remaining dough, I just eyeballed it, made smaller cookies, but they still spread out quite a bit. I put the remaining dough in the fridge for an hour or so, added 2 minutes cooking to compensate for chilling the dough. They were perfect! Only other subs I did was use pumpkin pie spice for the nutmeg, still used the 1 TSP cinnamon and I only used raisins. I also drizzled them with a maple glaze. Powdered sugar, milk and some pancake syrup, didn't measure those ingredients, but it's good on just about anything! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Oh man, this was the first time making this recipe. I doubled the batch and used two cups of wheat flour and only one cup of white flour. I also used half of the white sugar and these are AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
these never last more then 15 minutes at my house. fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I made a few changes. Cut out the white sugar and used 1/4 cup honey. Used organic butter. Decreased salt to 1/2 teaspoon. Added 1/4 cup ground flax seed to flour mixture. Added 1/2 grated apple and decreased applesauce to 1/2 cup. Added 1 teaspoon Double Strength Vanilla. Baked at 350 for about 10 minutes. Stored overnight in air tight container and they were even better the second day. My boyfriend really liked them and he is a sugar hound, so this was a big change. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
These were fabulous! I used 1 cup of finely chopped apples in place of the applesauce and omitted the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missmiavega

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palestine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
love these cookies,added chocolate chip and some walnuts for added energy, they are the best, nephew went back for seconds. my favorite. christiane
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
can I give it 10 stars? I only used milk chocolate chips but one of the best cookies I've ever made. Every single cookie was gone in less than 20 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ali1031

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Parksley, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Fantastic recipe. I love the fact that is uses a lot less butter than regular recipes, and it is nice and chewy. I followed some other peoples advice about the less sugar/salt. I only made half of this amount, and one egg white(instead of half a whole egg) worked out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States