Applesauce Oat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by JPMJ
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I increased the cinnamon to 3/4 tsp, the applesauce to 1/4 cup. I also added 2 tbsp chopped walnuts and half of a diced apple. These were good with the additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPMJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I made a double batch of these muffins. In an effort to add a little more nutrition and fiber I add 1/2c unbleached flour 1/2c whole wheat and 1/2c oats. I also add 1-2tbs ground flaxseed and fresh fruit such as chunked apples or mashed bananas. They make a great easy breakfast in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I followed the suggestions of others and added nutmeg and for kicks I added a lil bit of banana. The muffin is very bland, I probably will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I was looking for a fast, easy, and delicious muffin recipe this morning, and I picked this one. They were delicious and moist. I made some plain. I added fresh blueberries to some of the tins and raisins to some others. I tripled the recipe ingredients and made 24 mini muffins. I also had enough batter to freeze 9 full-size muffins. Will definitely make again. The group I served them to also loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
As is, the recipe did not work for me. Increasing it to twelve, there just wasn't enough liquid and really had a small amount of applesauce for 12 muffins (1/4 plus 2 tablespoons?). I adjusted the applesauce and went on with the recipe. The end result was good, I got 12 largeish muffins and one small "gift" loaf but the applesauce or liquid really needed to be increased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Cinnamon alone is never a very strong flavor so I used 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp Nutmeg and 1 tsp ground cloves. We also don't like traditional muffins so I baked in a square pan instead of a muffin pan. Came out very dry, bland and chewy. Will not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OonaWingedWolf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA
Living In: Clinton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
These muffins were good, found I didn't have any plain oatmeal so I used a pack of apple and cinnamon spiced instant oatmeal. I think it helped to make them more flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Heroux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
So yummy, and incredibly easy to whip up! I was running out of ingredients so I used vanilla yogurt instead of applesauce and whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose. I doubled the recipe, and it made 8 nice-looking muffins. They came out light, moist and sweet, and the oats added a chewy heartiness. I really enjoyed these and will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 400luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I loved this recipe! I quadrupled it to make 16 and made a few changes; 1 cup of whole wheat flour, traded the oil for applesauce, 1 tbsp of pumpkin pie spice, 1 tsp vanilla, and a 1/2 cup each of walnuts and cranberries. They are seriously awesome! I also don't think you can use too much applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States