Applesauce Oat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by JPMJ
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I increased the cinnamon to 3/4 tsp, the applesauce to 1/4 cup. I also added 2 tbsp chopped walnuts and half of a diced apple. These were good with the additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPMJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I made a double batch of these muffins. In an effort to add a little more nutrition and fiber I add 1/2c unbleached flour 1/2c whole wheat and 1/2c oats. I also add 1-2tbs ground flaxseed and fresh fruit such as chunked apples or mashed bananas. They make a great easy breakfast in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I followed the suggestions of others and added nutmeg and for kicks I added a lil bit of banana. The muffin is very bland, I probably will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I was looking for a fast, easy, and delicious muffin recipe this morning, and I picked this one. They were delicious and moist. I made some plain. I added fresh blueberries to some of the tins and raisins to some others. I tripled the recipe ingredients and made 24 mini muffins. I also had enough batter to freeze 9 full-size muffins. Will definitely make again. The group I served them to also loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
As is, the recipe did not work for me. Increasing it to twelve, there just wasn't enough liquid and really had a small amount of applesauce for 12 muffins (1/4 plus 2 tablespoons?). I adjusted the applesauce and went on with the recipe. The end result was good, I got 12 largeish muffins and one small "gift" loaf but the applesauce or liquid really needed to be increased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Cinnamon alone is never a very strong flavor so I used 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp Nutmeg and 1 tsp ground cloves. We also don't like traditional muffins so I baked in a square pan instead of a muffin pan. Came out very dry, bland and chewy. Will not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evansrabbitranch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA
Living In: Clinton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
These muffins were good, found I didn't have any plain oatmeal so I used a pack of apple and cinnamon spiced instant oatmeal. I think it helped to make them more flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLASSGIRL25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
So yummy, and incredibly easy to whip up! I was running out of ingredients so I used vanilla yogurt instead of applesauce and whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose. I doubled the recipe, and it made 8 nice-looking muffins. They came out light, moist and sweet, and the oats added a chewy heartiness. I really enjoyed these and will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 400luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I loved this recipe! I quadrupled it to make 16 and made a few changes; 1 cup of whole wheat flour, traded the oil for applesauce, 1 tbsp of pumpkin pie spice, 1 tsp vanilla, and a 1/2 cup each of walnuts and cranberries. They are seriously awesome! I also don't think you can use too much applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States