Applesauce-Oat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Very good! I make them for those quick mornings that I'm on the go! Just put'em in the freezer and grab as you go!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Oh My Lord these are amazing muffins! It's hard to find muffins that are healthy, yet actually taste good. WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PianoGirl1982

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
hmmmm.. yummm.. good!! just finished baking this muffins and now endulging while doing this review. just the perfect muffins that am looking for. not to sweet healthy, soft and crunchy toppings!!!! thank you so much for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
This recipe is a great idea for the health conscience (like myself). I would make one minor suggestion though (for those who like cinnamon), I would add a full teaspoon of cinnamon, rather than the 1/8th. The extra cinnamon gives the muffins a nice sweetness. Personally, the original recipe isn't sweet enough for me, but the full teaspoon of cinnamon makes it perfect. Lastly, I know cooking times do vary based upon location and glassware/cookware, but it took a full 30 mins for the centers of the muffins to be cooked fully (rather than the 20 mins suggested). P.S. The topping is soo yummy and sweet (must be the full tablespoon of cinnamon ;-) I could eat the topping just like that
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cali83

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Delicious! I used brummel and brown spread in place of the butter, and changed the amount of cinnamon in the batter. Per previous reviews, upped the amount of cinnamon to 1 Tbsp. It is the perfect amount, to me anyway. Were done in about 25 min. I think they're better while warm, maybe with some milk or cream poured over. It is a simple, quick recipe. Reminds me of apple-cinnamon oatmeal, and had the idea next time to use that instant oatmeal, in the packets...with the little apple bits, or to even chop up some apple next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Great! I substituted whole wheat flour entirely, and used old fashioned oats since I didn't have instant. I added a lot more cinnamon (1 teaspoon in the batter and 1 teaspoon in the topping). Otherwise, I followed the recipe completely. We loved them, and you would never know that they were healthy. I will definitely be making this recipe again and again! I have already stashed several in the freezer, for an easy and fast breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
These turned out really well. I followed the recipe exactly, with the substitution of 1 cup whole wheat flour, and the rest AP,and a bit more cinnamon. When adding the topping it would be helpful to press it in to the batter a bit, as a lot of mine fell off while removing muffins from tin. These are tasty, but a touch plain. They are good as is, or would be the perfect base for any dried fruit (i like craisins), shredded coconut, fresh berries, more spices, or pineapple. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
So delicious!!! My sister thought they taste similar to an oatmeal cookie. I left off the sugar topping and took the advice of another review by adding 1 tsp. of cinnamon. Very easy too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
EASY and yummy! For a non-cook like myself, I was happy to find that this was such a simple recipe. The second batch I made I added a little white sugar to the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Very good muffin. Easy to make. I substituted the flour with whole-wheat flour and used at least a full tsp. of cinnamon. I've got them bagged up and frozen and take out one or two a day for lunch/breakfast. And they are better when they are served warm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States