Applesauce-Oat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
While the muffins I made were quite moist, I felt they were way too bland and had little flavor. Sorry, I wanted so badly to love them, but they just didn't "wow" me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MY9HUNGRYKIDS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
You can use regular oats--no problem. I just made these and all I have are Old Fashioned Oats and they turned out just fine. I also used 2 cups whole wheat flour, 1/4 cup flax seed meal and I went a head and used the whole egg because I felt like it. (I would rather eat whole grains and have a little fat then white flour. I also greesed the muffin pan since another reviewer said the papers stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I made this for my daughter's 1st grade class, and found them way too dry... The kids only took one bite...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint-Dizier, Champagne-Ardenne, France
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Made these for my 9 yr old daughter for a quick breakfast. She loves them with a glass of milk and a banana. Great for grab and go healthy breakfast. I froze half of the batch. Added walnuts to half also. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Shelton Frazier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoneville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Ridgeway, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
As with other reviewers, I added a teaspoon of cinnamon, as well as some nutmeg and 1/4 t salt. I also replaced 3/4 C of the flour with wheat flour. Still very moist and yummy, and the topping is absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
These were very good and healthy. I recommend using a greased pan instead of paper liners; there is so little fat that they really stick to the paper. Will definitely make again :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I thought these were really good. I increased the cinnamon to a 1/2 tsp; I think next time I will add even more. I added a cup of diced apple and just for a little extra fiber I cut back on the flour and added about an 1/8 C of ground flax seed. They turned out really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sheila
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I sprinkled cinnamon on top before baking. Thought these were a bit dry, cooked exactly 20 minutes. They were super easy and I had all ingredients on hand so I give them a 4. The lovely photo you see is my 1st photo upload. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Very good muffin. Easy to make. I substituted the flour with whole-wheat flour and used at least a full tsp. of cinnamon. I've got them bagged up and frozen and take out one or two a day for lunch/breakfast. And they are better when they are served warm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
EASY and yummy! For a non-cook like myself, I was happy to find that this was such a simple recipe. The second batch I made I added a little white sugar to the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States