Applesauce-Oat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Too chewy and dense for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
They are very dense muffins. I like healthy, but I also like soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Dauterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
These were delicious!! My hubby and kids loved them. I did make changes for my family. I used the whole egg, 1 cup wheat flour and 1/4 cup ground flax!! A great "healthy" muffin!! Thank you for the suggestions and the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I burned these a little bit, but I imagine they'd be great if I hadn't (start checking on them at about 15 minutes so the same doesn't happen to you). I added a full tsp of cinnamon to the batter mix as well as the topping. The topping was a bit loose, so I'd recommend pushing it into the batter a bit when you add it so that it doesn't fall all over the place when you're taking out the muffins. Don't use muffin papers, they'll stick like crazy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
These are a great recipe to use ingredients already in the kitchen. The inside is soft and moist, but the edges that touched the muffin pan were a bit chewy. I agree with other reviewers that extra cinnamon and a little nutmeg are nice additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
These were great, enough that it made me come do my first review today. I made them this morning and couldn't wait for them to be ready. I made a few changes, but I am not sure it was necessary. I divided the flour the recipe calls for as following: 1/4 cup of Flax seed, 1/2 c whole wheat flour and 1/2 AP flour. I did it for no other than health purposes and I found the taste to be wonderful, I think next time I will take out the AP all together. Based on past reviews I was liberal with the cinnamon. I didn't measure but shook out what seemed right for the dry ingredient mixture. I also used a buttermilk powder mixture for the milk. I also doubled the topping, only when I ran out of it after topping about 8 muffins. I also used splenda brown sugar for the topping. Since I made the extra topping I really covered them up. These are going into the freezer for my on the way to work breakfast each morning. Next time, I will add vanilla to the muffin as well as diced apples. I will continue to double the topping and cover them up and push more if into the top of the mixture as they oozed and spread over from my first attempt of lots of topping. I would recommend these to all and it really is healthy and tastes great (is that possible)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fakeymcfake
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
These are probably the best muffins I ever baked, I made only minor changes, used sugar free apple sauce, and fructose instead of regular glucose sugar and whole wheat flour. I didn't change the cinnamon amount like most reviewers said they did, since cinnamoon can be very overpowering when used in larger amounts, the amount called in the original recipe was perfect in my opinion. I used the whole egg so it has no chance of becoming dry like another reviewer said (eggyolk isn't really that bad for you). I also added a handful of raisins, that was the extra something this muffin needed :) They were moist, sweet, delicious. The topping was nutty and crunchy. Just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fakeymcfake

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I thought these turned out great. Yes, they are healthy so DON"T expect bakery flavor, expect good, natural flavor! I did use a full tsp of cinnamon in both the mixture and the topping and I replaced half of the flour with ww and I added ground flax seed. Still, even making them more "healthy", they were great AND my kids loved them. My 6 yr old had 5 for breakfast and my 4 yr old had 4! I do recommend spraying the pan instead of muffin cups, they stick to the cups pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mexican lover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I had big expectations for this recipe and was let down. As many other reviewers have stated there is not a lot of flavor in these muffins. We covered them with chocolate icing to help the bland flavor. I took the advice of others and used 1 tsp of cinnamon in both the topping and the mixture. I used 1 1/2 c of whole wheat flour and 3/4 c of brown sugar. I even took the advice and added nutmeg to the topping and that still didn't help. I just hope the kids will eat these in the morning for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waipahu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Moody Afb, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Just so so - ok if you are looking for low fat but would be much better if you used 1/2 cup oil and 1/2 cup applesauce. I'd up the brown sugar too in the muffin batter to 3/4 cup. Definitely use more than 1/8 tsp. cinnamon. I'd add some vanilla too. I think instead of milk plain yogurt or buttermilk would be better.Chopped up apples would be a good addition. 20 minutes was ample time to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States