Applesauce Noodle Kugel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
This turned out very nicely. I used 1/2 cup of real butter(margarine is terrible for you), 1/2 cup less sugar, used 1/4 cup more reduced fat sour cream, used chunky spiced applesauce from trader joes, softened the raisin in the boiling water with the noodles, and used almost a cup of graham cracker powder and 1 tsp cinnamon mixed with 4 table spoons of melted butter and sprinkled that mixture on the top instead of on the bottom. I baked for 50 minutes. Next time I might even cut the sugar some more. I think the graham cracker "crust" prevented the noodles from getting dry and burnt. The crust was a nice golden brown - no burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
I have never liked noodle puddings, but a favor to my mother inspired me to try this recipe - success! She called it the "best kugel I have ever had in my entire life." I still don't like most kugels, but this has become one of my favorite year-round dishes. I use only 1 C sugar, 8 oz of chunky applesauce, soaked sultanas (golden raisins), and no graham crackers crumbs. It is far less sweet and creamy than most kugels this way, and it really emphasises the appley-cinnamon flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
Excellent! I made mine with unsweetened applesauce and it was still sweet, just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
it is excellent . i cut the sugar down to only 1cup and used SPlenda instead of sugar and no one knew. Everyone loved it .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
I brought this to a Yom Kippur break fast and people couldn't get enough! As suggested, I cut the sugar and used unsweetened apple sauce. My only complaint was the graham cracker crust turned a bit soggy--perhaps something else would have been better texture-wise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rberkee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2003
Really excellent recipe. I left out the sour cream because I hate sour cream and used milk and it did not change it all. It was so good and everyone ate it within minutes of it coming out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
very good - i used butter instead of margarine and cut it in half - should read melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
This kugel is the third recipe I've tried so far and I just can't seem to find one that I like. The first two were not sweet enough and this one was too sweet. I used cranberry applesauce and more lemon juice because I like it tart, but I think I will cut down on the amount of sugar next time. Also, will cover with foil next time because the top part of my noodles "crispified" (burned). Thanks for sharing though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
This was my first try at kugel, and it turned out perfectly. It was very easy and delicious. It also kept well in the fridge for a few days as we finished it. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMURKA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This is an amazing dessert! My family ate it right out of the oven..it didn't even get to cool off I had to make a second one right away! A definate family and friend favorite Smells wonderful while baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Ever Classic Jewish Noodle Kugel

This sweet, creamy egg noodle casserole is traditional Jewish comfort food.

Kugel

See how to make rich, fluffy kugel for the holidays.

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States