Applesauce Noodle Kugel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I grew up eating kugel with apples and raisins in it so to me it's comfort food, even when it isn't perfect. In making this for the first time for my kids though, I have to say that I agree with another reviewer - we don't eat margarine, so I substituted butter - and I halved the amount called for as suggested by the same person. 1 cup does seem like a lot, but I'm not sure if cutting it affected the moistness of the kugel. We buy only full fat dairy, so our sour cream was not fat free and I was hoping it would make up for some of the butter left out. We used 6 eggs in place of the egg substitute, and used peeled chopped apples in place of raisins as I didn't think our kids would go for them. I should have covered with foil the whole baking time - they didn't care for the crunch to the top noodles. I'll try this again, but making a few tweaks for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
A lot of the comments here suggest reducing the sugar. I would say it really depends on whether you use unsweetened or "normal" (sweetened) applesauce. With unsweetened, I don't think it's necessary to reduce the sugar much. My modifications: 1/2 cup of butter, 1/2 cup raisins. I just wish I hadn't cut the sugar. But overall it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This is my go-to recipe. Everyone lives it! I omit raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Really good and was really easy to make with my girls who are 7 and 8 since it dosen't take long to prep. We made it for Rosh Hashanah dinner, although it is really more like desert than a dinner side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
My kids and I love this recipe - much lower in fat than many other kugel recipes. I use 3 eggs instead of the egg substitute and leave out the raisins and graham cracker crumbs - also reduce the sugar by half. It is fabulous and easy. You can use low fat margarine and sour cream or regular - does not seem to matter to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This is really sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I recently became part of a Jewish family and found this recipe. What a hit!!! The older ladies at the synagogue said I make the best kugel they've had after tasting this and my non-Jewish family loves it, too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This is great! I've been making this recipe for the past three years. I took advice from some of the other reviews...LESS SUGAR! This is key. I am not Jewish and all of my Jewish friends can't believe that 1. I know how to make kugel, 2. that it's good & 3. that it's healthier!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I just made this I put the Graham Cracker Crumbs on the bottom. On top, I put a layer of Apple Pie Filling (canned), some more graham cracker crumbs and more cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Ever Classic Jewish Noodle Kugel

This sweet, creamy egg noodle casserole is traditional Jewish comfort food.

Kugel

See how to make rich, fluffy kugel for the holidays.

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States