Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I make a recipe similar to this, only instead of shortening I use melted butter. I like to soak the raisins in hot apple juice or unsweetened chai to plump them a bit before I use them in this recipe. We love these muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Yeah, yeah, I used my blend of apple pie spices, which doesn't include ginger, so I'll take any blame for the subtle flavor - although I don't know that I'd want more. These might be good with chopped apples in them. They aren't bad, just a little on the heavy side, moist. On the other hand, when asked, E, 15, said he wouldn't mind seeing them again - if I felt like making 'em. :? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I added 2 eggs and a quarter cup of milk because it was too dense. I left out the clove (personal preference)The addition of the egg and milk thinned it nicely and made a delicious muffin. I also added an oat crumble topping before baking. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I made these with no changes, and they were very good, moist and the right texture for muffins, BUT they should be named "Applesauce SPICE Muffins"--they taste like spice cake, so much so that I couldn't taste the applesauce. (I know, I should have known this from reading the recipe, just wanted to give others a heads up).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Absolutely delicious! Moist too. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I've never encountered a muffin recipe without eggs and milk. I add two eggs after seeing the consistency of the batter. In the oven now have to update in 20 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I did 1/2 tsp soda and 1/2 tsp powder so it wasn't so dry. I also had to add 1 tbs vanilla, 1 egg white, and 1/2 c milk. Great flavor, but way too dry without my changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
To strong in cloves and very dense muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by georgink
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I was looking for a low-sugar muffin for my kids and these no sugar muffins are perfect. The raisins give them a bit of sweetness, but they are less sweet than your usual muffin. I used butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States