Applesauce Loaf Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Definitely a keeper! I skimped on the raisins and wish I'd done the full cup. As normal, I did ~60% of the sugar, so those nice burst of sweetness from the raisins is pretty key. Overall, pretty easy to make and pretty yummy considering there's only 2 tbsp. butter. I also made a quick streusel (butter, sugar, finely chopped pecans, flour, cinnamon) which was nice on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
This is a delicious bread and very healthy with only 2 tablespoons of butter. I followed the recipe exactly but didn't add in the raisins because I didn't have any. It is delicious and not overly sweet which I liked. This recipe makes one 9 x 5 inch loaf and I don't think there's enough batter for two loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Pretty good, I nixed the raisins and topped the cake with walnuts and pecans! You can definitely taste the clove and nutmeg with this one! I also had to cook the cake closer to an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Very good and was super fast. I didn't use a full cup of sugar and did add 1/2 tsp salt. I look forward to making again with whole wheat flour. It is toddler approved also! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I just made this and it is delicious. I used 1/4 cup white sugar and 1/2 cut brown sugar. Also used 1 cup AP flour and 1 cup white whole wheat. Used canola oil instead of butter. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This was PERFECT! I made the same changes that Angie Seaman mentioned! Increased the cinnamon to 1 tsp. and omitted the raisins. And I decided to use only 3/4 cup sugar, which worked great! And just like others have said, this doesn't make 2 loaves, just one! I love the fact that this cake is very low fat and very moist! It has a great apple/cinnamon spice flavor that makes your home smell heavenly while this is baking! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MagicallyDelicious
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This is really good. I added extra cinnamon (1 t) and used pecans instead of walnuts, left out the raisins because they aren't my favorite. The loaf was nice and moist even with so little fat. I'll definitely make this again. It definitely isn't enough for two loaf pans - I made the whole batch in a large loaf pan and it baked for about 60 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
yummy, and not too sweet!!! This was great as a "first birthday" cupcake for my son. The only things I did differently was did 1/2 cup of the flour as almond meal and 1/2 cup was graham flour. Oh, and I just did 1/2 teaspoon of allspice instead of the clove and nutmeg, since I couldn't find those.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This is super moist and yummy. Fast to whip up and versatile. I used homemade pear/blueberry sauce, reduced the amount of sugar to 3/4 cup, added 1 tbsp of lemon juice, 1 tsp orange zest and used cranberries and pecans instead of raisins and walnuts. It came out wonderfully. Thank you so muck for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I doubled the spices because I like it spicy. It was delicious. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nelleke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States