Applesauce French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2004
MMMmmm. This is one good recipe! I usually wake up before the rest of my family, and they are all cap'n crunch and cocoa pebbles people anyway, so I often scale brunch and breakfast recipes on this site down to serve one and make them for myself. This french tost is some of the best that I have tried. Nice and moist, and the applesauce gives it a subtle flavor. Will make again, defenetly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2004
Well I did what people suggested, reducing the milk, adding more cinnamon, and reducing the applesauce and it came out .... nice but not great. It was still a little soggy so next time I try Ill reduce the milk to 1/4 of its original size and I cant really taste any apple so Ill keep the same amount of applesauce in. Ill have fun experimenting with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2004
delicious, my husband loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2003
This is soooo good and easy to make. The first time I made french toast as a child, i ended up with fried toast with eggs on it. Because this recipe does not use alot of eggs, that wont be a problem on this one. Yes, the french toast is very soft, I reduced my milk a little, as suggested by other reviewers.. I also used cinnamon bread (and reduced the cinnamon) and chunky applesauce.. because most of the applesauce was left in the bowl (the chunks) the french toast came out not too sweet... and I fried it in butter...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
VERY GOOD!! I LIKE THE FACT THAT THE APPLESAUCE IS PART OF THE RECIPE. VERY TASTY WITH A HEALTHY ADDITION.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
I've made this for quite sometime. For an extra good flavor I used Peach Flavored Applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2003
This was a great recipe! I followed the suggestions by other people and cut back the milk to only 12 cup so that my bread wasn't too soppy. I also added extra cinnamon and used natural (unsweetened) apple sauce. The sweetness was perfect when I did it this way. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
Used Texas toast for this and it didnt get soggy at all like other reviews had noted. I did just dip and and not soak and it still had that applesauce taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
Very moist and good variation to french toast...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
The recipe was very moist and I had to be careful transferring the bread from the dish it was soaking in to the pan. I may add extra eggs or decrease the amount of milk next time. The applesauce added a nice flavor. Very sweet. My family enjoyed it but thought they preferred their "normal" french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States