Applesauce French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
delicious! i would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Pretty good! I made it with whole wheat english muffins, which was probably why I couldn't taste the spices as much. I added nutmeg as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
This was really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
Made this for my son last week. He wasn't feeling well and wanted French Toast for lunch. I found this and decided to try it. It turned out pretty good. I tried to dip it really quick but it still ended up a bit soggy in the middle. He loved it and there was enough to put in the fridge for the next morning. After it was reheated the sogginess went away. It was just as good. Thanks for the nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I used leftover store-bought cinnamon-raisin bread. The flavour was good, but the bread stayed rather soggy - I almost burnt a piece trying to crisp it up a bit. Perhaps I will trying soaking the bread less as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
This was really good. Did experience the problem of soggy bread, but next time I think I'll use a french stick cut diagonally, and that should hold together better. Also didn't have any apple sauce so used apple syrup to get the flavour and it gave just a nice little hint. Might use a little more next time to get more of a flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nelson, Nelson-Marlborough, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
I made a few changes based on other reviews. I added only 1/2 cup of milk, 2 tsps. cinnamon and I only dunked the bread. I made with whole wheat bread and this was so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
5 STARS ++++++ This recipe beats any french toast/pancake/crepe recipe I've ever tasted!! To prevent a soggy centre I cooked on low heat and at the start covered with a large pot lid/cover. THANK YOU FOR MAKING BREAKFAST YUMMIER FOR ME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOXFIRE2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Digby, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
These were really very good. I used less milk, as others had suggested and more cinnamon for added flavor. I also chose to use slices of homemade bread and dunked them instead of soaking them in the mixture. Had a great meal - and let me suggest using the Sauteed Apples recipe from this site as a nice topper to your french toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
Hit a homerun with these. I was able to sneak eggs into my 4 year old twins without their being any-the-wiser!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States