Applesauce French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I made a double recipe of this. I can't say that the applesauce really added anything to this recipe. I used my homemade sauce which was a little thicker than normal but that really didn't matter. It was good but like I said, it didn't really make that much of a difference. If I do this again, I might add double the applesauce called for in the egg dip OR I'll just serve the sauce over the top. NOTE: My applesauce had apple pie spice and brown sugar already in it, so I skipped the added sugar and spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This was soggy but good. I could taste the apple sauce which was nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Quick, Easy and YUMMY!!! I reduced milk to 1/2 cup other than that, didn't change a thing!! Was a tiny bit soggy so next time I think I'll buy whole wheat bread and try it. Up the nutrition too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kearney, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I liked this recipe a lot more than I thought I would. The flavor is really good and made french toast interesting again. I used only 1/2 cup of milk though and might use a little less next time. I also used whole grain white bread. Will be making this again real soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Very, Very good recipe. We made it with Panera Bread Co. raisin bread and it was soooo good. Light apple sauce taste, not overpowering. Will definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DULLAH
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This was an okay recipe. The french toast ended up being too soggy and too mushy. Not your traditional french toast. ADVICE: Use 1/2 cup of milk to get better results
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Basma Yacoub

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I used a little more applesauce (1/3 c.) and a little less milk (2/3) and 1 T. brown sugar instead of the white. Used slipper cibotta bread cut thick (1"). It made 8 pieces. Everything else was the same. I cooked it on an electric griddle at 350. Served it with applesauce on the side and warm maple syrup. Powdered sugar and a fruit syrup would be really good with this, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
There are defiantly better ways to make french toast. The recipe was too bland for me. It is a creative idea though, & b/c I do not like to waste food I did finish it, but I do not think I will be making this again. Thank-you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debrac1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fresno, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
did not like this recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sweetwater, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
So easy! Big and little loved it! I used fresh wheat bread and broiled under the broiler for above 5 minutes to make it hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIADAMIANI

Displaying results 11-20 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States