Applesauce for the Freezer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
I used Fugi apples and doubled the recipe and the results were great. It does taste delicious warm over vanilla ice cream! We froze it and enjoyed it for weeks! Thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
This is, by far, the BEST applesauce I have ever made. Our neighbors gave us two different boxes of their apples (don't even know what kind...a lot like Gala or Fuji). I had 7 cups apples for the first batch and 8 cups for the second. Note: I put the lemon peel in a tea ball so I could remove it more easily. My family raved about it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellie Mitchell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
This is an awesome recipe! I added nutmeg and used green apples from my tree in the backyard! This will be a wonderful addition to my kids schools lunches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
So yum!!! I did happen to add nutmeg, because I love spices, but tasted before, and it was really good. Will do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by funmonkey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Made this as gifts for Christmas 2013 and four months later my family is still asking for more! My 1 1/2 year old nephew kept saying "Mmmmmmm more apple!" and kept licking the spoon. There's no better review in my book than that :) The lemon peels are the key to success for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Simple and sweet! I use ground cinnamon and no lemon juice/zest since I am usually just trying to use up apples and don't have these on hand. I blend it in my blender, quick and easy! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I made a large quantity of this recipe with 20 pounds of MacIntosh apples. I left out the lemon zest (my preference only) and decreased the sugar just a bit. It is deliciously sweet with a little lemony zip from the juice and the tartness of the apples still comes through. Rather than freezing, I chose to can mine in small jars with two servings each. It is a beautiful consistency and texture. Thank you, I have found my applesauce recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Love this applesauce! I put everything in a slow cooker on high and in 3 hours it was done. I have little ones so I used the hand blender to smooth out what little bumps were left. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I just finished making it and the house smells wonderful. Of course I had to lick the spatula after the last stir and.... yummmm. I cut the recipe to make about 1 quart, enough for two meals. Our Mac tree is very "giving" this year and I know there will be a lot of applesauce in the freezer. Thanks for the recipe robcrow and thank you for the crockpot idea Sarah Jo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
This also works out well in the crockpot. Just throw everything in the crockpot leave it for most of the day and by the time you go to fish out the cinnamon sticks/lemon peel, it pretty much is ready to go. All you have to do is run a hand blender or potato masher slightly. DOUBLES WELL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Fried Sweet Plantains

See how to make fried sweet plantains.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States