Applesauce Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
Don't know if I did something wrong but I didn't like this. Interior was moist but outside was tough. Did add 1/2 grated apple and drop by spoonfuls into the oil. Sorry this recipe didn't do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
this recipe is tasty, but the person who reviewed it and changed not only the ingredients but cooking method shouldn't comment on this recipe, it's not going to turn out correctly if you don't follow the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry Lemke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Delicious! Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Very tasty. I used allspice instead of clove, since that's what I had on hand. By the way, I agree with the poster who said it's unfair to dramatically change the recipe and then give a poor/mediocre rating. The raw apple that poster added would completely change the texture of this recipe and would also change cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Good... but not too apple-y. Anything fried and sugary is good, right? 4 cups isn't enough flour to take this from a batter to a dough. I made with 4.5 -5 and they were still tender and light. Tasted great, but could go for more apple flavor... as well as more cinnamon and nutmeg. I think next time I'll try replacing half the buttermilk with applesauce instead... or maybe a little apple juice concentrate instead of some of the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
These were great. I added frozen orange juice concentrate as I had no orange. They were terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Yummy! My kids beg me to make these. The only thing I do different is I use a small scoop to make donut holes only. It's quick and easy with less mess. I have used flavored applesauce too. Raspberry and cinnamon are great. We've also dipped them in glaze. Thank your mom for the great recipe. I can guarantee this will be passed down in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Yummy! Fast and easy. I didnt have buttermilk. So I subd with plain yogurt. Was still great! Cant wait to try again with original ingredients. Make sure oil isnt too hot! Burnt first few. I made donut rings, with a glass and the center with a small shot glass! Cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
great! easy and delicious! I agree with the others you cannot review a recipe when you refuse to follow the directions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Awesome recipe! Pretty easy to make and very tasty. I will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by memmitt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States