Applesauce Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
These were great! I used cinnamon flavored applesauce just because I like the extra spices. Moist and tender donut holes. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2002
This was a delicious recipe for quick and easy doughnuts. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
These were a wonderful taste treat! The recipe made exactly the quantity specified. They disappeared in a hurry, and my family has requested that I make these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinehurst, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2003
Easy! Fast! Absolutely Delicious! I needed a quick breafast fix and this was the recipe! I definitely think this will become a Saturday morning tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reiscakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
Excellent! In making this I learned I had run out of nutmeg...but they tasted great without it! My husband and daughter loved 'em! They're even better when you dip 'em in sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkey, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This was not the recipe that I was looking for, but tried it anyway. WOW! My husband has made me promise not to make them again soon because he couldn't stop popping them! I followed recipe and advice from reviews, using pumpkin instead of applesauce but also added finely chopped apple to the batter. I used a candy thermometer with a pan on the stove, which seemed to work best below 375 degrees- more like 325-355. Also, small teaspoons of dough instead of larger sized doughnuts allowed the centers to cook better for me. This recipe wil be used often in the fall, particularly while DH is working and the kids can get some! Thanks for posting it for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
These things were awesome! I followed the recipe exactly as it is. I suggest that you do not make a lot at a time because you will eat them all in one sitting. They are so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
Very good. Followed the recipe (besides I forgot to add the oil until I reviewed the recipe before puting the batter into the pot) and I didnt use four cups of oil and it still came out well! All i must say is that you should not expect the dough to be perfectly round like munchkins when they come out. I rolled mine in a cinammon sugar combo and enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
These were great! My husband and step-son had these all gone within an hour! (Okay, I helped a little!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staceyrichards

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morley, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
All I can say is "thank you". These are so good. All my kids loved them. It made a bunch so we will have some left for breakfast. I used a batter dispenser to make donut shape but I think the holes would be even better. Will try that next time. this recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States