Applesauce Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This was a delicious and quick desert/breakfast plus you feel a little healthy with the applesauce. I used a little whole wheat flour for another healthy addition and probably could have used more. The tip about using a paper sack instead of paper towel worked very well for added crispness. And a side note, if you use this batter on a skillet, it makes delicious mini pancakes as well! We liked ours with cinnamon sugar best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springville, Utah, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
They taste exactly like a doughnut hole shaped pumpkin muffin - good, but not what I was looking for. I am going to make them again, adding a cup of ricotta cheese for richness and NO cloves or nutmeg. I guess I wanted apple fritters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATLGIRLJJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Excellent flavor! But there must be a trick to adding the batter to the oil; most of mine just imploded and became snakes rather than balls. I added cinnamon sugar right after pulling them out of the oil...Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
kids liked them. i made a powdered sugar/pumpkin glaze for them and dipped half of each one into it. subbed pumpkin for applesauce. all in all a solid recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
These are good/ok. I would make them again if I had the applesauce. I wouldn't go get the applesauce to make them. I was a little disappointed that they didn't have a fruity taste. I think my expectation of what these would taste like caused me to not like them as much as I could. A way to add fruit to your diet. Good freshly baked, not so good after about 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Hubby made these this morning, and they are just sinful! We are bringing them to Christmas brunch this year, for sure! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missivy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I got a new mini fryer for Christmas and thought this would be fun to try. I followed the recipe exactly, and what came out was nothing like what I know as doughnuts, rather they were fried spice bread holes. And I couldn't taste the apple sauce at all. Spice bread fresh from the oven actually tastes better than this fried version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nve76
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
The best! perfect flavour! My husband said they're "better than timbits"! I lightly dusted them with icing sugar, but they're still scrumptious without anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I followed this recipe exactly as written, yet still had very doughy doughnuts. Even the small ones were doughy inside. Won't be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Not really apple-flavored at all, was it supposed to be? I never had applesauce donuts before so I'm not sure how they should taste. Anyway, if I make them again, I will at least put more cinnamon and nutmeg to have the apple spices and pretend that it tastes like apple instead of just dough. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States