Applesauce Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I used fresh ground flour (wheat, oats, brown rice), and slightly reduced the sugar. At first, I made them too big and with the oil at 375, they burned on the outside and were dough in the middle. I reduced the temp and then made them with tablespoon drops, and they were ok, but they soaked up so much oil I felt a little sick. So... I broke out my corn dog maker to finish off the rest of the batter. MUCH better! I will likely make this recipe again, but I will bake it like muffins or use my corn dog maker or other electric cooker to cook it instead of frying these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
just made these this morning to try to use up the rest of last year's applesauce. They are awesome! I omitted the cloves, as a matter of personal taste, and I used my cookie scoop to get the batter in the oil. when they were done, I drained them briefly on paper towels, then rolled them in cinnamon sugar. one cup of sugar and a teaspoon of cinnamon was just about perfect to coat all of the donut holes. now that I have this recipe, we will no longer have to buy the expensive donuts at the apple orchard! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christianmusician8
Reviewed: May 11, 2013
These are the best doughnuts I've ever had! I doubled the amount of cinnamon, but kept everything else the same. I baked them in a doughnut maker I had for about 8-10 minutes until a cake tester cake out clean. I pulled the doughnuts out with chop-sticks and rolled them in sugar cinnamon! It was really hard to stop myself from eating more than I should... I got about 3 dozen using my maker which is a little larger than standard doughnut holes you'd get at the store. They were so fluffy & the first recipe I've tried in the maker that actually raised to fill the wells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adrian, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
These could be called applesauce spiced doughnuts; you taste more of the spices than the applesauce. I did have an idea that was going to happen, though, from all the reviews I read. I don't like frying foods; it's rather time consuming and I don't digest fried foods well. Instead of frying, I used my new Wilton doughnut pan to bake the doughnuts. It took about 6-7 minutes at 425 but they came out rather nice. I thought about dipping in sugar; but with baking I'd have to brush with something, perhaps butter or margarine, to accomplish that, and I wasn't in the mood last night. Maybe next time. This is a very forgiving recipe; I accidently switched the amounts of baking powder and baking soda and still got a decent batch of doughnuts. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly, but baked the doughnuts. I cooked them at 375 degrees for 8 minutes. I won't cook them as long next time, they were a little dry compared to the description, but tasted great. My daughter also wanted to taste the apple, not all the spices, so I will cut back on those, even though I really liked them, and increase the amount of apple sauce so the apple flavor is what you taste and it's more moist since I'll definitely bake them again. I'll also sprinkle sugar on them next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I feel like you need to heat the oil to 300 or it burns. Also I just used Apple Pie spice and no applesauce or pumpkin and they were pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I did use homemade spiced apple butter instead of unsweetened applesauce. Right out of the oil, I tossed the hot donut holes in cinnamon/sugar mix. These are addictive little suckers. Between the three of us, we made quick work of these spiced donut holes. The kids keep talking about them and how unbelievably good they are--HUGE hit here. Next time I make these, I'd like to try another submitter's idea and try pumpkin puree in place of the applesauce. I bet that would be AWESOME. NOTE: Using one of those spring loaded cookie dough scoops to make uniform balls and to drop into the hot oil works really well. Try that. Much easier than trying to manuver a tablespoon and a spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Ok, so I stupidly followed the review that said carefully add a tsp of vinegar to the oil. DO NOT DO THIS!! It exploded hot grease all over my kitchen. Luckily it did not catch on fire or get my little girl who was across the room, but almost. Other than that, and cleaning the kitchen for 3 hours, and it's still gross, this recipe was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
great flavor, easy to make, first time I've made donuts and I had success. Smaller is better so they fry quickly. We didn't get 60 from this recipe, but my family of 7 had plenty of leftovers (ate 2/3 fresh).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States