Applesauce Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2000
I tried this recipe with homemade applesauce. It turned out so well, I thought my husband would take his fork to the pie pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2003
This is a great recipe - not your average apple pie. I love the custard/apple mix - it works great with homemade applesauce made with tart apples. Very easy and it has always turned out perfectly for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2004
Good Pie! I used unsweetened store bought applesauce and decreased the sugar to 1/2 cup. No problems - just delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
Awesome! I think the people that found it too sweet were using regular applesauce. I boiled up 3 apples and made my own (2 large braeburns and 1 granny smith) with no sugar there. I used a full cup of sugar and it wasn't too sweet. However, I just added spices until I thought it looked "spicy" enough! A bit of nutmeg, some cinnamon, cloves would be great in this I think...just a tad. I also ended up baking this without the crust as my crust didn't turn out the way I would have hoped. The only problem with that is the sugar crystallized on the edges. Perhaps that's because I didn't use a mixer. I probably cooked it a little longer than called for as I used smaller pie plates, but I loved the way it turned out. The consistency was a bit like pumpkin pie...would be excellent with some whipped cream on top! I think I'll be making this as an additional pie for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
Too bad the star rating only goes to 5, because this one deserves many more!!! Thanks for submitting this DELICIOUS recipe, Cathy. After reading other reviews, I decided to omit a portion of the sugar also, I found 2/3 cup was sufficient and the pie was still plenty sweet. Next time this gem is prepared, I will add some raisins. I did use a mix of cloves, nutmeg and cinnamon in the "batter", which floated to the top as the pie cooked ... Perfect in every way, and "so tasty too" ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
I thought this was a great change from a regular apple or custard pie! So easy to make too. Like other reviewers, I also used 2/3 cup sugar and it was plenty sweet enough :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Immokalee, Florida, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
This pie was really good and easy to make. Other reviewers complained about it being too sweet, but perhaps they used sweetened applesauce? I think this recipe is meant to have unsweetened applesauce used in it. For my pie, I tried something a bit different that ended up being excellent. A certain famous applesauce brand whose name begins with an "M" sells all-natural "no sugar added flavored applesauce in those little individual serving 6 packs. I made my pie with the peach flavor and it was delicious! I used between 3/4 and full cup of sugar and it was not too sweet at all. When making the pie, be sure to cover the crust edges with foil or pie protector during the last 10 mins. or so of baking so it won't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Awesome!! This is an easy recipe as well as delicious. I used sweetened cinnamon applesauce, 1/2 cup egg substitute, increased the vanilla to 1/2 tsp., lowered the sugar to 1/2 cup, added 1/2 tsp of lemon juice to cut sweetness and sprinkled the top with cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves before baking. I served it warm with a dolop of whipped topping. My family loved it. It was gone in one day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
This dessert was so light on the pallet, and very easy to make. Definitely worth a re-make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I loved this recipe. I chopped up a fresh apple and added it in with the apple sauce. It did not set as well as I thought it would but I think that was my fault. I should have adjusted the cooking time after adding the apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States