Applesauce Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This pie is so delicious. Even better than I thought it would be. I did add one small yellow apple shredded. I believe this improved the texture. Thank you for sharing your recipe Cathy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
It is perfect if you want a quick easy pie. I'm not much of a pie maker but I made this one and everyone loved it.!!! Very great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This recipe was wonderful. I used homemade caramel apple filling/sauce instead of regular applesauce and it was amazing! (will try using less butter than the recipe calls for next time though.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Easy and quick to prepare. Very good I used cinnamon grahm cracker crust and unsweetened apple sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
This sounded interesting & I had lots of extra homemade applesauce to work with today so we tried it. Put together exactly as written & the result was a creamy texture with great but subtle flavor. The only note I have to make is on the baking time. I started with 35 minutes at 425 and ended up with the pie in the oven for a full hour to get the filling to set. In the future, I'll treat this as I would the pumpkin pie. High temp for 15 minutes then knock it back to 350 for another 35 to 40 minutes. My applesauce is simply tart apples cooked down with no sugar & run through the food mill. Using the full cup of sugar called for in the recipe was spot on in this case. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I think I made this pie and popped it in to the oven with in 5 minutes. Easy. Used unsweetened applesauce and Splenda. Definitely cut the sugar in half, maybe a 1/3 of a cup. A bit too sweet. Added an extra egg and a bit more vanilla. set up perfect, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
The amount of sweetness is an individual taste thing. I used regular apple sauce and 1/2 splenda and 1/2 sugar. I will use 3/4 sugar and 1/4 sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Really good! I partially baked my shell first, and used half Stevia in the Raw and half sugar, doubled the vanilla, and extra cinnamon. I put a dash in the crust with the other dry ing, sprinkled a half tsp or so in the bottom of the shell, then about the same on top, but I LOVE cinnamon and apples. Also make sure you put something around the edges of the shell or it'll burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tahlequah, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
too sweet for me...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I really wanted to love this recipe because it had so many good reviews. The only thing I did different was add a tad more vanilla. The middle didn't set up at all, even after cooking for close to an hour. The flavor was different and nice, but I ended up with soup. Since so many reviewers had great pies, I may try again and possibly lower the oven temp after cooking halfway so the custard cooks a little slower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieCritter

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States