Applesauce Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I love love this corn bread. I read some of the other reviews before I made it. They said it was a little bit on the dry side and too much baking soda. So, I doubled the apple sauce and added a 1/4 cup of butter to the recipe. I also cut the baking soda in half. I had some fresh oregano and marjoram I chopped up and added about a teaspoon to it. Yummy!!! This is my favorite. The secret to good corn bread is to not let it bake too long. If it's starting to turn brown and the tooth pick comes out clean pull it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelisaC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Artisha Pacheco

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
my mom and i made this recipe, and we just added 3tsp. of butter, and a whole cup of cinnamon applesauce instead of no butter and 1/4 cup applesauce. we also just buttered the pan. We tested it out on my little brothers and told them to eat it normally (with butter and honey), and they Loved it!!! :) :) P.S. I loved it too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Woodruff, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
A little on the dry side, I'll use more applesauce next time, but all together good when you add the butter and honey! I did take the advice given and cut the baking soda to 1/2 tsp. instead of the 2 tsp. it called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wyoming, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I took the advice of all the reviewers and reduced the baking soda to 1 tsp and increased the applesauce to 1/2 cup. Admittedly, I have a taste preference for sweeter cornbread, so in the future, I would add some honey. With these modifications, this rose well and was plenty moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
My family and i thought this was really good. But i did take other peoples advice and cut back on the baking soda. I also added a little more applesauce and sugar and it was great. I will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Only use 1/2 tsp baking soda and double the applesauce. Watch cooking time so it does not get overdone. Will be perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I liked this. Let's face it, if you don't use fat, it's not going to have the same consistency of normal cornbread. However, if you know that going in and you're looking for a lower fat alternative to it, give this recipe a shot. I didn't make as is. Here are the changes I made: used one and a half teaspoons baking soda; used whole wheat flour; added about a third of a cup of fat free plain Greek yogurt; used egg whites. I tried very hard to not stir the mixture too much. It rose nicely and I ended up with a palatable quick bread that went well with the veggie soup I concocted that night. My 14 year old son really liked it and remarked how it didn't crumble (and wasn't as messy) as regular cornbread. In fact, he ended up eating 3/4 of the pan, that little turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaeMama71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winslow, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
Without the sugar it does not taste sweet if you prefer it that way. It is moist and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
Not that great, sorry. Thought the applesauce would make it more moist, but it wasn't that moist. Ok flavor but that amusement park cornbread recipe on her is a million times better. I will admit that I doubled this recipe and made into mini-muffins for a chili supper, which maybe effected it moistness and texture - might have been better baked in just 8X8 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cicero, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brookville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States