Applesauce Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I had no problem whatsoever with the dough or these cookies (like some reviews I read). They baked perfectly and beautifully in less time than the recipe suggested (that's my oven for ya though). I do agree that it's not about the presentation with this cookie..it's all about the taste! They are moist and delicious in flavor. I omitted the raisins because I don't like them, and I used a tsp of cinnamon and a dash of allspice. I also drizzled a little glaze on top just to make them a bit more appealing to the eye. I tried it with a sprinkle of confectioner's sugar, but I liked the glaze better. This recipe is worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Turnersville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2002
We loved these cookies. Easy to make and very moist. My daughter doesn't like raisins, so she substituted chocolate chips in her batch-very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
Very easy cookie to make. Husband loved them, he couldn't keep his hand out of the jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
YUM! My mixer blew up in January, and my new one just arrived. I couldn't WAIT to bake something. . . but didn't have tried-and-true ingredients (choco chips, oatmeal)! I found this recipe, had all the ingredients, and set to work. It was very easy. . . and the cookies are almost gone -- all except those that are still in the oven! ;+)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2004
i loved them! my grandma used to make applesauce cookies while I was growing up. I wanted to make them for my kids and wanted a similar cookie! Awesome moist and wonderful.. they were easy and fast.. We don't care for raisins so we put chocolate chips instead.. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
These cookies are so delicious. My husband and 2 children just love them. They are so moist and so easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sauquoit, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
These are very soft, cake-like and puffy. One batch lasted appx 3 hours at my house, a new record for us! These cookies are very "home-y." I needed to bake mine a few mins longer than stated. I baked them until the bottoms were medium brown and they were just perfect. Thanks for this keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
I love these cookies! My family just loves them, which says something! I didn't have raisins so I used choc. chips instead and they came out beautifully. Next time I think I'll try both the raisins and choc. chips and see what happens. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
I used smart lite margerine and added an extra 1/4 cup of applesauce instead of an egg to make them even healthier and they still turned out great, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I made a batch of these on a whim for my family for Christmas and they went fast! Love the texture of these cookies. I also substituted chocolate chips for the raisins and nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States