Applesauce Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
i use an extra 1/4 cup of applesauce instead of the egg..alittle more cinnamon because i use homemade applesauce with no sugar or cinnamon..i wish i use allspice season for more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe! I've made it several times, now, and it also works with just about anything that resembles applesauce in texture. Of course, I began with applesauce and they were great, but it also works with cooked pumpkin, raw carrots, or zucchini grated in the food processor. When I substituted them, because they are less acid than applesauce, I added two teaspoons baking powder. I've become very experimental lately, trying to use up leftovers in the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I found this tasteless and unimpressive. Someone thought it tasted like an oatmeal cookie without the oatmeal. The second batch I add 3/4 cup oatmeal, and they were much better. Granted, I did omit the nuts, which I also advise against. My total recommendations: add 1 tsp vanilla for flavor, add a 1.25 cups oatmeal, and add a glaze of milk and powdered sugar to add some sweetness to an otherwise bland cookie. I would also kick up the cinnamon a notch. The glaze is clutch. It has potential and they are especially soft and moist and hold their shape well. Not too pretty though - reminded me of drop biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
Gerat to make on a drizzly afternoon! They make the house (or dormitory!) smell fantastic...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
My Mom used to make these all the time, she has been deceased for about 4 years. I love these cookies and could not find her recipe so I tried these, and with a few tweeks they taste just like hers:) Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cosmo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Since my family doesnt eat raisins, I substituted chocolate chips for them, and the cookies were still fantastic. If my finicky family will eat them, anyone would!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I made a batch of these on a whim for my family for Christmas and they went fast! Love the texture of these cookies. I also substituted chocolate chips for the raisins and nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I had no problem whatsoever with the dough or these cookies (like some reviews I read). They baked perfectly and beautifully in less time than the recipe suggested (that's my oven for ya though). I do agree that it's not about the presentation with this cookie..it's all about the taste! They are moist and delicious in flavor. I omitted the raisins because I don't like them, and I used a tsp of cinnamon and a dash of allspice. I also drizzled a little glaze on top just to make them a bit more appealing to the eye. I tried it with a sprinkle of confectioner's sugar, but I liked the glaze better. This recipe is worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Turnersville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
I used smart lite margerine and added an extra 1/4 cup of applesauce instead of an egg to make them even healthier and they still turned out great, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
THESE ARE , AS WAS STATED BEFORE , NOT THAT ATTRACTIVE. I WHIPPED UP SOME CONFECTIONER'S SUGAR AND MILK, ADDING SOME CINNAMON, TO MAKE A GLAZE TO TOP THE COOKIES . IT MADE THEM LOOK MORE APPEALING AND GAVE THEM A LITTLE UMPH...THEY REALLY ARE NOT VERY SPICEY, SO I DID ADD SOME ALLSPICE TO THE RECIPE. THEY ARE OK , BUT NOT ONES THAT I BAKE VERY OFTEN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seymour, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States